We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Tahoe Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
515 Emerald Bay Road, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lake Tahoe Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

When we drove up, we were a little disappointed because the outdide looked like motel... However, we really were impressed by the cleanliness of the place and the true dog friendly nature of the place! Your dog can truly go eveywhere on the property. Wune and cheese evenings were great and the marshamellow/smore making party was wonderful ! While they have a sledding hill in the back of the property that the owner built, its s liitle steep for the young ones... For sledding, we highly recommend sropping off at Fish Pond before giing to Fireside. With 5 to 6 different hill grades, kids of all ages will definitely have a blast!!! The motel is a little dated, but it definitelybis cozy and warm.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
72
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed in the springtime in room 8 - (the angler room). Nice size & a fireplace. The owners & pup are so wonderful. These two have thought of EVERYTHING!! They even have free kayak use & mountain bikes. There is a trail behind the property that is beautiful - we packed a picnic lunch & we stopped at every beach along the path - so nice not to have to deal with parking & traffic.

In the evening they have a 'happy hour' with wine & cheese. A large movie dvd collection & they have a nice garden area with fire pit for hanging out.

A true gem! You won't regret it. Can't wait to return next summer & may try it out this winter as well!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markleeville, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We think it would be impossible for anyone to have anything other than a great time at the Fireside Lodge. It is apparent from the first moment that you walk on property that this is not your average hotel - it is a labor of love. Every detail is perfectly appointed - from the thoughtful decorations, to toiletry items in the bathroom, wonderful breakfast, even wine and cheese hour and drinks in lobby. They have bikes and kayaks for guests to use. This is the most comfortable, accommodating place to stay in TAHOE! Christine, Dave and Kona have thought of everything! We spent our wedding night here and then came back for our 4 yr anniversary. 4 yrs ago this place was amazing! We have exactly the same sentiment today - we loved every minute of our stay and hope to be back very soon! Well worth every penny! The Fireside Lodge deserves at least 6 stars! (PS - there is no pool but I couldn't figure out how to take the stars off, but there is an amazing lake in close proximity that definitely counts as a pool in the summer time!)

Room Tip: We stayed in the recently renovated Mariner Room - would be great for a family. It had bunkbeds and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorCal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We simply can't rate the Fireside Lodge highly enough! The only thing better than the facilities and general location is the personal customer service. David and Christine go well above and beyond to ensure you're taken care of every minute of your stay. We found Fireside Lodge when we moved from Omaha, NE, to Northern California. A year later, I booked an anniversary weekend getaway but had to delay when I was deployed on very short notice to the Middle East for a couple of months. Our reservations were put on hold until we could get a few days away and Christine worked with me personally every step of the way. After one crazy spring and summer, our three-night stay was a blessing!

Room Tip: Don't forget your dog! The property backs up to the state forest, which makes for easy hiking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Adorably themed rooms, extremely friendly owners and staff, above and beyond B&B style. From the wine and cheese time, to s'mores, to rec area, to fire pit, bike rentals, hospitality and more,...this place is amazingly adorable and so very woodsy. This place is simply comfy, updated and cool (don't let the cool retro sign out front fool you) because everything is tastefully decorated in a fresh woodsy way (very "cabin-ensue"). You can definitely tell that this place is old, but even more, you can see the love that has been put into its modernizations and Tahoe character. Absolutely loved our stay and will be back!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are themed, so check out their website and see what fits your style if planning ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and i stayed at the fireside lodge for a weekend. We enjoyed it so much that we are contemplating going back at the end of this month/October.
Christine was so welcoming and loving toward us and allowed us to cook the fish that we caught on the lake. It was a dream vacation. We loved how our friend Kona (beautiful yellow lab) would just knock on our door and come and hang with us. Kona, "you will always have a special place in our hearts."
Fireside lodge offers so many wonderful amenities.
We thoroughly enjoyed kayaking and bike riding as well as roasting marshmallows, drinking wine while having heated conversations by the fireplace as well as all the goodies you can handle and believe me, I can handle a lot. Not to mention the yummy waffles and breakfast treats that was all complimentary. I can't say enough about this wonderful place. What a sweet haven we found! Well my boyfriend found; he's good like that. We had the fishermens room. Oh and all the rental movies your little heart desires and when you get tired and just want to relax, swing on the hammock and enjoy the zen sauna!
Fireside Lodge, you are simply divine!
Xo

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We recently spent Labor Day Weekend at the Fireside Lodge. We have not often stayed in bed & breakfasts,and had no idea it could be such a wonderful experience! Dave and Christine made us feel like family come to visit and could not have been nicer. We loved the wine and appetizers set out every night, and hanging around the fire at night with s'mores and talking to other guests was so much fun. Breakfast was delicious, and I could not resist the waffles every morning. We also enjoyed the game room, and I tried to reperfect my SkiBall throw from my childhood. We took the bikes provided for a wonderful long ride down the path right behind the Lodge. It could not have been a more perfect stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 515 Emerald Bay Road, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe's only all-inclusive premier bed and breakfast lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fireside Lodge b&b
Fireside Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.