We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
515 Emerald Bay Road, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
NorCal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We simply can't rate the Fireside Lodge highly enough! The only thing better than the facilities and general location is the personal customer service. David and Christine go well above and beyond to ensure you're taken care of every minute of your stay. We found Fireside Lodge when we moved from Omaha, NE, to Northern California. A year later, I booked an anniversary weekend getaway but had to delay when I was deployed on very short notice to the Middle East for a couple of months. Our reservations were put on hold until we could get a few days away and Christine worked with me personally every step of the way. After one crazy spring and summer, our three-night stay was a blessing!

Room Tip: Don't forget your dog! The property backs up to the state forest, which makes for easy hiking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
72
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yuba City, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Adorably themed rooms, extremely friendly owners and staff, above and beyond B&B style. From the wine and cheese time, to s'mores, to rec area, to fire pit, bike rentals, hospitality and more,...this place is amazingly adorable and so very woodsy. This place is simply comfy, updated and cool (don't let the cool retro sign out front fool you) because everything is tastefully decorated in a fresh woodsy way (very "cabin-ensue"). You can definitely tell that this place is old, but even more, you can see the love that has been put into its modernizations and Tahoe character. Absolutely loved our stay and will be back!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are themed, so check out their website and see what fits your style if planning ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and i stayed at the fireside lodge for a weekend. We enjoyed it so much that we are contemplating going back at the end of this month/October.
Christine was so welcoming and loving toward us and allowed us to cook the fish that we caught on the lake. It was a dream vacation. We loved how our friend Kona (beautiful yellow lab) would just knock on our door and come and hang with us. Kona, "you will always have a special place in our hearts."
Fireside lodge offers so many wonderful amenities.
We thoroughly enjoyed kayaking and bike riding as well as roasting marshmallows, drinking wine while having heated conversations by the fireplace as well as all the goodies you can handle and believe me, I can handle a lot. Not to mention the yummy waffles and breakfast treats that was all complimentary. I can't say enough about this wonderful place. What a sweet haven we found! Well my boyfriend found; he's good like that. We had the fishermens room. Oh and all the rental movies your little heart desires and when you get tired and just want to relax, swing on the hammock and enjoy the zen sauna!
Fireside Lodge, you are simply divine!
Xo

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We recently spent Labor Day Weekend at the Fireside Lodge. We have not often stayed in bed & breakfasts,and had no idea it could be such a wonderful experience! Dave and Christine made us feel like family come to visit and could not have been nicer. We loved the wine and appetizers set out every night, and hanging around the fire at night with s'mores and talking to other guests was so much fun. Breakfast was delicious, and I could not resist the waffles every morning. We also enjoyed the game room, and I tried to reperfect my SkiBall throw from my childhood. We took the bikes provided for a wonderful long ride down the path right behind the Lodge. It could not have been a more perfect stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

While visiting CA for the first time, we stayed in three bed and breakfasts in three nights making the loop from Yosemite Nat'l Park to Lake Tahoe. This was, by far, the most enjoyable b&b we stayed at. Got there early in the day, enjoyed wine and cheeses, sat around the fire pit, made smores, loved the folded tissues in bathroom, cookies in our room, the ambience of the entire place and delicious breakfast the next morning. Hated to leave. Look forward to next visit soon.

Room Tip: Have your choice of themed rooms, arrive mid afternoon to take advantage all amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We absolutely Loved our stay at the Fireside Lodge....From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the sweetest dog ever Kona the golden lab. She is such a great dog. She spent time with us in our room, which our boys loved....The rooms are clean and perfect for our family. Christine and Dave are wonderful hosts and they have thought of everything. Loved the waffle bar every morning, snacks
all day, wine, cheese and crackers for happy hour and s'mores by the fire every night. So much fun and so good. Our boys loved the game room and played air hockey and skee ball a lot...Bring lots of quarters....Also having other families there with kids was a great experience. Our boys played with the other kids and had a blast while we got to relax and talk with adults... We are so happy we stayed and will be back next year for another stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Based on the name of it and the photos, we were really expecting a "Lodge" or maybe a large home. When we drove up, I have to say we were disappointed to find a basic 50s roadside motel, that had been spruced-up. Once we met the owners, took the little tour, saw how much work they put into the place and got into our room, we began to like the place. The owners have really made the effort to turn a typical motel into something special and welcoming. Everything is updated and all have a little kitchen area with seating. The gas fireplaces are nice. We didn't have a chance to use the bikes or kayaks, but next time we plan to. Although this motel is more expensive than similar ones nearby, the friendly service, updated rooms and little extras, make it worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 515 Emerald Bay Road, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe's only all-inclusive premier bed and breakfast lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fireside Lodge b&b
Fireside Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.