We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
515 Emerald Bay Road, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The very best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

No snow when we came and we still loved it! We changed things to stay on the recomm of Tripadvisor and we so glad we did... Believe everything you read, this place is unique. After many types of accom over 3 weeks - this was our most memorable, welcoming, comfortable and talked about by our children! Perfect if you have a car. We stayed in the family room (5 of us) and Kona (dog) welcomed our family with a big cuddle:) Room was full of memorabilia, warm, small kitchenette, very clean. Breakfast was awesome - home made waffles, cereal, oats, fruit, lovely juice, pastries - just wonderful. Old games room (hubby loved Galaga!), board games, great spa, free bikes (bike track next door), gorgeous outdoor fire to do S'mores. David teaches the Australian children how this works - they have not stopped talking about s'mores, hot chocolate and Kona the dog! Christine and David haved found their gift - they are warm, friendly (happy hour every night), so knowledgable, the property is immaculate, they treat everyone like family and returning guests:) Thankyou both for adding to our incredible family USA White Christmas (well, note really white!). We will return one day when it snows:)

Room Tip: Visit over Christmas if you can - amazing decorations..... Only one family room for five, book earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
72
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
reno
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We've been going to the Fireside Lodge for over 4 years now and each time we're there it only get more and more amazing. The charming B&B isn't like most places where you have to pretend because everyone is under the same roof. Here, you have your own hotel room that's not iside the lodge itself. The owners have such an eye for detail that every room is actually a suite and the appointments are over the top. From the luxurious bed linens and towels to the gas fireplace you simply couldn't ask for more. They are truely "hosts" in every sense of the word and the warmth and friendliness are the reason we are there at least 4 or 5 times a year. You cant go wrong here ... heck, there's even an outdoor fire pit to enjoy a relaxing glass of wine!

Room Tip: There are no inferior rooms here. This is a Diamond in Lake Tahoe and a welcome relief from the big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012 via mobile

We went to fireside based on the recommendation of a friend last year. We are not really skiers but we wanted to take the family to the snow for the first time. We had an absolutely fantastic time! The sledding hill, a wonderful breakfast, a movie library complete with popcorn, old time game room with air hockey and ski ball, a claw game with cute forest animals, and a wonderful lodge and sitting room where you can get to know the others staying there. Now for the clincher- they allow dogs! We don't bring ours but my girls sure LOVE Kona, the resident lab! And the other dogs are always an added bonus! Needless to say, my family talked about the great vacation all year and instead of Hawaii, we went back to Fireside! It was another great experience with amazing hospitality from Christine and Dave, a wonderful New Year's surprise of hats and noisemakers on our beds for the midnight celebration, and they even had the bikes out to borrow and super hiking recommendations since there wasn't much snow this time. We have now been back home a week and the kids are still talking about the great trip and great dogs and asking me, "mom, when can we go back to Fireside?". I see we have started a family tradition! Thank you for everything, we have just loved staying with you!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We have been going up to Tahoe for years and for our money (and experience), there is no better place to stay than Fireside. Welcoming, courteous, friendly service with more amenities than other places. Our dog, Tahoe, can't wait to get out and run around with Kona (the lodge dog/host) and she also loves getting a couple of roasted marshmallows at S'More time! If you are looking for a wonderful place to stay that will keep you coming back, this is it!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This place is great! Everything is so thoughtful, from a doggy blanket in your room to people blankets around the campfire. It was so nice to stay at a place where dog people stayed. We met not only great dogs but great people too. From homemade waffles in the morning to s'mores in the evening- We were staying on New Year's Eve and enjoyed a midnight celebration with David, Christine and other guests. Clean, comfortable, my dog made many friends- so wonderful to spend a vacation where your best friend is celebrated too. Thanks from Shoshana and Leslie! Highly recommende !

Room Tip: All good rooms. Some are larger then others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Like the other reviewers, we found that Christine and David had thought of every possible thing to make our stay wonderful. We upgraded to a larger room (Mariner Room) because we were staying for 3 nights and wanted to be comfortable, and are so happy we did. Everything is so clean and beautifully decorated, and we got plenty of help from the hosts finding local hikes and restaurants.They now have their incredible Xmas decorations up around the lodge.
We'll definitely be back, probably when the weather is a little warmer. It is worth it!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We have been at Fireside Lodge quite a few times now and we love it! Now we are able to bring our dog Emma with us to enjoy all the wonderful hikes and snow shoeing around Tahoe. Although, her favorite part besides playing around with other dogs at the lodge is to go to lake and swim.
Breakfast, Happy Hour and S'mores by the fire place are included. The rooms are clean and beautifully decorated to make you feel you are in a cabin in the mountains. The only downside are the bathrooms, they are extremely small. Wow! I feel like heading there now.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 515 Emerald Bay Road, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe's only all-inclusive premier bed and breakfast lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fireside Lodge b&b
Fireside Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Lodge Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.