We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Spot in South Lake Tahoe” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Highland Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Highland Inn to your Saves list
Highland Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3979 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Spot in South Lake Tahoe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the highland inn over Labor Day weekend. The fact that I could book it on the Friday says something about its popularity but I struggled to understand why that might be.

The design of the place is pretty cool, the rooms are clean and modern with air conditioning and all the modern conveniences. The beds were comfy too.

I was woken up at 3am by a drunk frat boy thinking it was his room, but that was not the fault of the hotel.

The only thing that did get me was the reception staff was a NASCAR watching dude with slightly bizaare social skills. He was nice enough but you didn't get the feeling he was particularly interested in helping you out.

All in all a pleasant stay but nothing exceptional.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    12
    8
    12
See reviews for
13
30
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Got shown the room before we booked. Pleasantly surprised to find modern deco, comfy bed and new shower,. Oh and huge plasma. Great location close to the lake and the cable car. It was I good stop on our journey from Napa to Yosemit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Let's see the guy working the front desk (who is apparently always theres so beware) was extremely rude to us upon our arrival. We got to the hotel rather late and woke him but I'm sorry that is no excuse for treating paying customers like crap. Most people who stay in a motel have been travelling for hours and sometimes things go wrong that interrupt your plans of arriving at a early hour and no where on their website does it say that check in must occur between x amount of hours. We were exhausted had been travelling for 15 hours and the last thing we needed was to be treated like we were the rude people who dare wake the only person running the front door. By the way we never did get a apology during our short overnight stay. Then to make matters worse we were triple charged for the room that I had already paid for in advance. They decided to charge us a additional 250 some odd dollars, which P.S. thier room rate was 99, so where the magic number of 250.00 came from is beyond me and I never did get a explanation.
Then after all that we ended up leaving our pillows behind in our rush to leave the property and so far I have had to call twice to ask that our pillows be mailed to us. It's been three weeks since our visit and guess what? no pillows. The firt time I called I got a excuse that they couldn't be mailed when they initially said because they had to wash them. Wash them? Who asked you to wash our pillows? Surprise, surprise more rudeness when I called the second time and the cherry on top is the guy didn't even have my address saved, I had to give him all my info yet again. I'm about to call for the third time but at this point my hopes are low and my request to have the owner call me never happened either.
The room was just ok, it was clean, no coffee in the room, but we could hear absolutely every movement and sound going on in all the rooms around us.
There is absolutely no saving grace for this property. Do yourselves a favor and find somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: I would give zero stars if I could
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
156 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

It was one of those days where everything went wrong, and we found ourselves hot, tired and without a place to stay. We thought maybe the Holiday Inn would have a good deal on a room; we were shocked to find they wanted $169 a night. We went next door and they had a clean, recently updated room with a king sized bed and fridge for $65.00 a night. The bed was comfy, the towels were decent quality, and the tv was a large flat screen. The wifi connection was a bit spotty, but it's free. The guys who work there are old-school locals, and they were very helpful.

The location is excellent, just blocks from the lake, the lifts and the casinos. There's no reason to spend more than you have to on a room.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the back, away from Lake Tahoe Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Hi everyone! Returned from South Lake Tahoe a couple of days ago and wanted to share a bit about our stay. This was my first visit to Lake Tahoe and we were looking for an economical stay for a few days. Found a package on Orbitz that included the Highland Inn and Hertz rental for 288.00 - 4 days/3 nights. I must admit I was a little skeptical given some of the reviews, but I can say that it was a GREAT experience! The Inn is located within walking distance of the Grand Marriott resort which includes the gondola ride up Mt. Heavenly and many shops and restaurants to explore. Our room (102) was very cozy - with a refrigerator, nice flat screen and a comfortable bed. It was clean, stocked with enough linens and accessing WiFi was no problem! The air condition was a little loud, but tolerable. Many people commented on a negative experience with the front desk….we arrived at 2:30AM and woke him out of a sleep, but we did call beforehand to say we were arriving late. While not in the best of moods, he was very accommodating and made sure our room was prepped and apologized the next day for being a little grumpy. He helped us with directions, recommended a couple of spots for dining and was really a good guy. I think it helped that we are laid back people and don't take too many things personally. The location of Highland Inn was a plus - close enough to the casinos if you're interested, and walkable distance to a really nice beach. The only reason I didn't mark this 5 stars was because of the shower. It is a little small, and it's hard to adjust the shower head. Other wise, pressure was fine and so was the temperature. Overall, I highly recommend Highland Inn, it's a great choice for budget and comfort. If you are looking for a room overflowing with amenities, this is not the place. However, if you like quaint, comfy and are looking to save money BOOK IT!

Room Tip: You might choose an upstairs room, we could hear footsteps, but it was tolerable and we are heavy sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The desk clerk was extremely rude. I was not greeted when I came in, and when I inquired how he was, he responded with "I've been better." He went on to complain how busy he was!!!!!! It took him well over 20 minutes to check me in and I was the only one there! He appeared to be on drugs and kept crumpling up papers. Then after 20 minutes, he told me I did not have a reservation!! He found it in his messy pile, and finally checked me in. There was no internet unless I sat outside my room or in the office (no thank you!). A smile would go a long way and in this economy, why complain about being busy! He should be grateful!
The room was clean and fairly quiet. I would stay again, but not if I saw the same guy at the front desk!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here in November for my birthday with my best friend. When I came to check in the front desk clerk was very rude and reeked of alcohol. I myself work at a hotel and would never allow this behavior (Drinking on the job!) Not only that but me and my friend seen him walking the parking lot with what seemed to be a local sipping on a beer. Other then that I absolutely LOVE this hotel and recommend it to all my friends! It is in walking distance of MonteBleu, Harris, Harvey's, and the Gondola. There is a apple bees and carros in the next parking lot over. I think we only paid 55$ plus tax a night. Rooms were very clean and beds were comfy! They had a cute cabin feel to them. I cant wait to stay here again I just hope they have different staff! If you dont want to drive either Taxi cabs are SUPER affordable too!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.2 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#2 of 71 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 551 reviews
1.5 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#28 of 71 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
Marriott Grand Residence Club Ta...
#9 of 71 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#21 of 71 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Tahoe Inn
Park Tahoe Inn
#47 of 71 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Lake Tahoe
Holiday Inn Express South Lake T...
#17 of 71 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Inn

Address: 3979 Lake Tahoe Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highland Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Highland Hotel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highland Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.