We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; terrific value for the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradice Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Paradice Motel to your Saves list
Paradice Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   953 Park Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great location; terrific value for the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

You can’t beat the location of Paradice, especially considering the amazing price for Tahoe – short walking distance to the beach, the village, the gondola, the casinos and Edgewood Golf Course plus many, many restaurant choices and shopping. The room was small but clean and very tastefully renovated and having a personalized welcome sign on the chalkboard in the room and the bedside lights on and soft music playing was a lovely touch, as was the evening chocolates and bottled water. The staff was all extremely friendly and helpful. We had chosen a “Standard Queen” which meant limited amenities: no A/C although the fan worked fine, no fridge, no drawers for storage, free wi-fi but no desk to put a laptop on, no hairdryer, no coffee maker. There is no ice machine on the property but the staff was quick to provide a full ice bucket on request. Bottom Line: we would stay there again in a heartbeat, but would be more judicious in investigating the amenities for the room chosen.

Room Tip: The motel is quite small, but there are different room types on the property. Be sure to review the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    46
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
78
139
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We chose Paradice Motel for a three night stay based on reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed! We had a deluxe king room upstairs. When we arrived, there was a message welcoming us on a chalkboard in the room, as well as some fruit, candies, and bottles of Perrier. The room was clean, spacious and updated, and the bed was very comfortable. Each day, additional Perrier and some chocolate kisses were left for us. The hotel is in a fantastic location- just a few minute walk to the lake, the Heavenly tram, shopping, restaurants, and casinos. The best part, however, in my opinion, was the staff. The motel is run by a really nice family, and the service is terrific. Each morning, my husband and I went down to the lobby to pick up some coffee, tea, and muffins, and always enjoyed our visits with Kathy. She was able to recommend some really phenomenal restaurants in various price ranges, as well as suggesting activities we might enjoy. When we checked out, we were given a goody bag containing bottles of water, gum, candy, and moisturizer for our drive home. When we asked Kathy's husband for some paper towels and Windex to clean our car windows before hitting the road, he actually helped clean them! We would definitely stay here next time we head back up to Tahoe. I would definitely recommend this motel! Just make sure to bring your own hair dryer and phone, and everything else will be taken care of.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are quiet, and if you head up when the weather is hot, 4 out of five of them have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Romina was very nice. The rooms were very clean. quaint and nice. our name was on a welcome board when we arrived and fruit and candies were left every night when we returned to our room. the only disappointment I had was there was no iron board or iron. Other than that it was a perfect weekend for us.

thank you Paradice for making our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed here because the motel got good reviews making it #2 or #3 out of all hotels at South Lake Tahoe. We were initially disappointed due to the small, dark room, but the staff helped make up for that. Pros: candy on the pillow, Perrier at our bedside, fruit bowl, nice, helpful staff, high-end eco-friendly bath products, very comfortable bed w/ high quality white linens; extra bedroom; Waterworks pedestal sink and high-end faucet; high tile window-"shelf" in shower for shampoo, etc.; refrigerator. Cons: dark room with no view; bad lighting at the bed; no place to sit and read (other than a plastic lounge chair with no light next to it); shower head so low that only a 6-year-old could stand straight up to wash their hair; old plumbing that scalded you if someone turned on the water at the same time, both from our bathroom as well as from other guest rooms; no storage for suitcase, toiletries, etc, although there were two closets, one with no shelf but with a coat bar. Suggestions: a tall shelf unit in corner by bed for toiletries, etc.; floor lamp by plastic lounge chair; taller bedside table lamps; more seating outside the rooms (benches are ok but are only at every other room)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz, ca
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Walk to town, lovely attendants at the hotel. Clean rooms. NOT fancy, older, but clean & fairly updated. The check-in girl was so attentive - gave us a great recommendation for drinks. Motel style parking right in front of hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I've visited South Lake Tahoe several times, summer and winter, and Paradice Motel was definitely the best place I've stayed at with an affordable price. My girlfriend and I stayed here the last weekend of May. The location is great. It's just a few blocks from shops, restaurants, and also the casinos. The lady that worked at front desk was very friendly throughout the whole stay. Our room was much nicer than expected. It was small, cozy, and very clean. Although there wasn't an iron, it wasn't a deal breaker. Room had a personal welcome note written on a small chalkboard which was very nice. There were also fruit and candy on our bed when we first arrived. After stepping out for a few hours, more goodies were placed in our room which was a nice surprise. We were able to request late checkout with no problems and were sent off with a goody bag. Since the lady from front desk was the only staff we interacted with or saw for that matter, I can only assume she did everything herself. I love that she went above and beyond for customer service which is why we will definitely stay here again. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed here over the Memorial day weekend. It's walking distance from downtown area. It's a small motel with a friendly staff. Room is cute and way nicer than my expectations for the price. Light breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradice Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradice Motel

Address: 953 Park Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Paradice Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership and recently remodeled and revamped, Paradice Motel is now Lake Tahoe's premier boutique motel. We are centrally located in the heart of all the action in South Lake Tahoe. Just a block from the base of the Heavenly Gondola, two blocks from one of Lake Tahoe's finest private beaches and three blocks from Stateline and the casinos, the Paradice Motel is truly paradise found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Paradice Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradice Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Paradice Motel Lake Tahoe
Paradice Hotel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradice Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.