We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the welcome and the little touches......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradice Motel

Save Saved
You added Paradice Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paradice Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   953 Park Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“It's the welcome and the little touches......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Can add very little to previous reviews. We stayed here for two nights. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the shower was good. There was a small fridge and a microwave. It didn’t bother us but we did notice there wasn’t a coffee maker which is unusual. The décor was pleasant and fresh.

There were a lot of nice touches like bottled water, fresh fruit and sweets and when we left the innkeeper who was charming gave us a bag with a couple of bottles of water and a few sweets in. She was also very informative about the area. It’s the little personal touches combined with the cleanliness and quality that make this a 5*.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    44
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
77
134
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Booked last minute after we couldn't get to yosemite and couldn't have asked for much more. Arrived late-ish and we're asked if we needed recommendations for dinner. We didn't but made use of this the following night.
We only had one day in tahoe, but got great advice from the owner (who was lovely and left us notes and choccies in our room!) on how best to spend our time that we had. We followed her advice and had a fantastic time, the plans she made for us were perfect.
We also told her about the plans for the rest of our trip and she provided great info on where to get petrol and where to shop on our route.

The accommodation was clean and comfortable and facilities were great. Even had little toiletries which I didn't expect from a little motel. We were also given coffee and pastries in the morning, an added bonus.

All in all can't recommend enough. Great location in tahoe and fantastic motel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I recently spent three nights at the Paradice Motel and were delighted with our experience. Our room was neat and clean, and though not luxurious it was perfectly comfortable and conveniently located for our daily excursions. The reason for the five star rating, however, is the owner Kathy. She's worthy of 10 stars but that's not an option in this review. Each day at breakfast she'd give us insider advice on where to go, what to do, and the best places for fine dining. Kathy steered us right every single time! We never would have located Edgewood with it's lovely dining room on the lake without her guidance nor would we have visited Primos which offers the BEST Italian food we've ever had (including some high priced 'famous" places in San Francisco!) If you need lodging in South Lake Tahoe Paradice is the only place to go!

Room Tip: We had a king room on the second floor and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My five star rating may not be your five star rating. Just a short walk to the Stateline and Raley's shopping center off Hiway 50. It's not the most spacious or beautiful room with a view. It was perfect, clean and safe. Comfy bed with lots of comfy pillows. Clean as a whistle. Chalkboard note in our room: 'welcome ______ party!" 4 hershey kisses and a bottle of perrier at the bedsides. large tasteful book/knick-knack shelf with a variety of tasteful objects. Two nice fresh and clean wine glasses. Room basic, wall heater, windows clean and bright, and yes, old venetian blinds. Yes, I could hear the motorcyclists leave. Otherwise, all was quiet. No extreme safety measures needed. Closet with a few hangers. A chair to sit. Cable. One-person size shower with strong water pressure and loads of hot water. Very clean and tidy. NO phone in the room! Awesome. Owners go out of their way to help. Gave us great leads for tasty places to eat, off the tourist and upper class path. I will definitely stay there again when I'm in South Shore. Thanks Ulf and Kathy.....You define the word 'service'.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I came to Lake Tahoe on the third weekend of September. We were welcomed by the owner who immediately made us feel at home. Based on the purpose (vacation) and length (2 nights) of our trip, she offered great recommendations on activities, places to see, and restaurants. The room was spotless and comfortable. The greeting message, the fruits, water, and chocolate were nice touches. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We booked this hotel on the spur of the moment on a recent road trip to the USA. It was a good experience! The owners were very friendly, the rooms were clean and pleasant. The morning cup of tea one of the best in the states (we are English!). Would recommend it to one and all!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I have traveled extensively in the last few years and have never met more gracious and friendly people as the owners and staff at this motel. Super clean and homey is the best way to describe the room. The room was perfect with welcome message, fruit, water and turndown service with chocolate on the pillow ! They went out of their way to help us find the best way to Las Vegas. The young man at the desk even printed out the directions for us. All of this and a great location. It was a short walk to Harvey's for our concert, another short walk to breakfast and grocery store. Stay here! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paradice Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradice Motel

Address: 953 Park Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Paradice Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership and recently remodeled and revamped, Paradice Motel is now Lake Tahoe's premier boutique motel. We are centrally located in the heart of all the action in South Lake Tahoe. Just a block from the base of the Heavenly Gondola, two blocks from one of Lake Tahoe's finest private beaches and three blocks from Stateline and the casinos, the Paradice Motel is truly paradise found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Paradice Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradice Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Paradice Motel Lake Tahoe
Paradice Hotel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradice Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.