We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, clean and comfortable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cedar Inn to your Saves list
Cedar Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   890 Stateline Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great location, clean and comfortable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We booked two rooms- adjoining each other, one with a kitchenette which was ideal and it also had a gas fire. We were there to ski so we could cater for breakfasts and a couple of evening meals. On arrival the rooms were cold but the heating is incredibly efficient.
The rooms are dated but very clean and serviced each day.
The inn is located just across the main road to the Heavenly gondola - so ideal for bars too.
The reception is excellent- the lady was so helpful- advice on ski hire, restaurants, road status for our onward journey.
A great deal!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
5
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Casselberry, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We spent Labor Day weekend in South Lake Tahoe and booked this hotel because the price was right. We were not disappointed. We stayed in room #12, which was small but adequate for our needs. It had a small fridge and microwave and coffee maker. The people who ran the hotel were friendly and courteous. The location is perfectly situated right between the private beach access and the casinos. Considering that you do not stay in your hotel room much at all in Tahoe, this was a great deal!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Springs, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellent location at the Lake end of Stateline, free beach pass a bonus we used for the terrific 4th of July fireworks- front row seats! Basic but clean room and bath, short on electric outlets. Pool a plus. Our room was not made up for the 2nd day, but otherwise courteous, friendly service. Walking distance to casinos, lake, shopping.

Room Tip: Quiet in the back corner upstairs - #6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Superb location. Really nice owners. Clean and sanitary. Older property. This was a last minute reservation for me made on the same day after some plans fell through. The property is a cute old place just a couple blocks from the main drag and a short walk to the lake. Insofar as you don't go do Tahoe to stay indoors, this is your spot.
You won't be raving about the place you stayed, but you might feel better having your money go to a nice family who (I think) owns the place rather than some faceless corporation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Close to the lake, two to three minutes walk to the lake. We walked to the lakeside to see the sunset just after checking. The room is cozy and clean. The facility in the room works great.Recommend for buget travelers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

We got there on Christmas Eve at about 2:30pm. We looked up what hotels were closest to the casinos and stores so that everything was walking distance. We picked Cedar Inn also because they had the best price for the type of room we were looking for.

We stayed in the Mini Suite in room #14. The room came with a kitchen, coffee maker, fridge, microwave, a queen bed, and a mini sofa that turned into a bed (can technically only fit one person). We chose the room because my mom made food and brought it with us because she didn't think there would be any restaurants open since the weekend we stayed there was Christmas Eve and Christmas Day and we wanted the kitchen so we could heat everything up.

We were greeted by an asian lady that was very courteous and kind. I asked about the mini suite and she asked how many people were staying. She said the mini suite wasn't fit for 4 people because the sofa bed was only for one person and the queen for 2 people so she asked if we wanted to see the room first. We saw it and booked it since we were only staying one night, the 3 of us girls would sleep on the bed and my dad on the sofa bed.

Positive feedback: It's a good place to stay if you're looking for a cheap place to stay that is close to the casinos and stores. We were going to make reservations online but decided to just drop by in case the prices weren't up to date. The price for the mini suite online was $99 for the night we had chosen. After we saw the room she told us the price for the room would be $89 + tax so we took it.

Negative feedback: The shower door was broken. Literally broken because the pieces of glass were taped together. Also, it wouldn't close all the way so water got everywhere. The towels felt like sand paper but I guess you can't expect for towels from a rundown motel to be soft. Wifi is very very slow. I hope you have internet on your phone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

I recently stayed at Cedar Inn and had a great experience. I ended up arriving in Tahoe early and because my room was ready, they let me check in early. The staff was very friendly and the room was clean. Comfortable bed and decent size room. I had a fireplace in my room, but because it was August, I didn't have a chance to use it. I was very satisfied with my stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#20 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
1.8 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#26 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#3 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Taho...
#31 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino...
#27 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
0.3 mi away
3 Peaks Resort and Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort and Beach Club
#13 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Inn

Address: 890 Stateline Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cozy Cedar Inn & Suites is located in the heart of South Lake Tahoe. We are only 1 block away from Harvey's Casino/famous Edgewood Golf Course, 2 blocks away from the Private Lakeside Beach, 3 blocks away from Heavenly Gondola. Cedar Inn & Suites is a relaxing destination that is conveniently positioned near all the fine attractions that Lake Tahoe has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cedar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.