We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelers Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Travelers Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Travelers Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3930 Pioneer Trail, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Santa Clara, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

I don't know if we got the best room in this motel but our room was in perfect condition, clean, quiet, warm with cable TV and Internet access. We have a parrot and they let it in (after they checked the size): only $5/day for the pet (discount).

Location is fantastic: Starbuck near by, pizzeria and suchi accross the street. Bus to Heavenly accross the street. 5 Minutes driving to Nevada's casinos.

I got a bing bang for my bucks and spent 5 days there. Will certainly come back for same room at same price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    1
    3
    5
See reviews for
4
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Service- No comment
Room- absolutely worse then terrible,the mattresses and pillows must be 20 years old. I'm positive the blankets, sheets and towels are not being washed properly. The only thing nice was the T.V.
Location-Great
We won't be staying here ever again.

Room Tip: Ask them to show you the room before you rent it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

We belong to travel clubs and when we stay at a motel it tends to be inexpensive. We just want a place to sleep.
We found the owners friendly and our room was nicer than we expected and certainly clean. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

I went to my brothers wedding and wanted to stay new the wedding party. This location was in a great spot. As soon as we got in the room we knew we were disappointed. There were no towels, bathroom was not clean....and BEDBUGS! We were both attacked horribly! Making this review to warn others, BEWARE the BEDBUGS!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTPORT
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

Motel was what you would expect for one at the lower price range - clean and efficient, but not much else. Worth the price listed through the online disount travel services. I'd be happy to stay there again. However, the desk clerk tried to hit me with two additional charges at checkin - a service charge and an energy charge - worth more then 25% of the "guaranteed" Travelocity room rate.

Beware of such bait and switch practices. While motels can charge you for additional services you specifically use, such as phone, parking, room service, etc., the agreed rate they lisit with the online travel services is suppose to include any charges that apply uniformly to every guest. Do not pay them at checkin. Call the travel service immediately, if possible. Once the traves service and motel have spoken the charges should miraculously disappear.

Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

... is that it was within walking distance of the Heavenly Gondola, and there was a good sushi joint across the street.

We stayed here over President's Day weekend. The room rate was $59 per night and the location was good. I know you get what you pay for, and I don't mind staying in a dive.

This place is a dive. That's putting it nicely. The walkways upstairs are covered in tattered Astroturf. The pavement in the parking lot is crumbling. The motel itself is dilapidated.

We checked in around 1am, and the fellow behind the counter was of grumpy countenance. They really nickel & dime you. It's $10 per extra room guest. Every hotel I have ever been to will charge extra for extra room guests, but usually they assume people travel in pairs and don't start charging until guest #3. Here, they charge $10 per +1. Pets? That's another $10. I didn't dare ask for an extra towel.

Speaking of towels, I have stayed in some no-frills places, but damn, this was the coarsest towel I have *ever* encountered. The Astroturf outside was softer and better-worn that this. And the bathroom itself, though not a total loss, was still in dire need of remodeling.

I did not encounter the cleanliness issues other reported. My fridge was spotless and odorless. The microwave was equally sanitary. There was no hair on the floor or sheets. The bed was made and tidy (though the sheets were coarse, too). It was simply no-frills, and I expected that.

The motel is family-owned and operated, and that includes maid-service. We were going to hit the mountain in a few minutes, os i put the maid service sign on the door. The housecleaner swooped right in unexpectedly, then curtly let us know that they do all the cleaning themselves, and if we didn't want the maid, we shouldn't put out the sign. We put the sign up again as soon as we left.

Problem was, when we came back for lunch, our door was open! We went in and checked to see if anything was tampered with or stolen. We asked the maid (who was in the hallway around the corner) if she was cleaning the room because we were concerned aobut the open door. Then she got mad at us for putting out the maid sign when we supposedly didn't want the maid. We *did* want the maid! We just didn't want our room to be left open when unsupervised!!!

My traveling companion said the motel manager gave him the evil eye because I had not declared his presence. I fibbed by saying I traveled alone, but it saved me $30.

The only time I felt like they were being nice to me was at check-out. At least he didn't tack on the $30 for having a stowaway.

You get what you pay for. The only thing this place has got in its favor is location. A mile further down the road, I'd guarantee you they'd be out of business.

  • Liked — Location was great!
  • Disliked — The place is dumpy.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2006

We came into town late in the afternoon without reservations and after looking around for awhile for an air conditioned room (it was very hot) we met the front desk woman (who is presumably the head of the family who lives on the property). She told us we wouldn't find anywhere else with air conditioning and nobody else would be as cheap as them on a Saturday night. I would have rather slept in my car after this awful experience. I went into the room (which we paid a ridiculous rate of $150!) which was in poor taste, with a stinky fridge, and hairs all over the bathroom. The linens were filthy, the shower was clogged up, and the whirlpool was long ago disconnected. The sign on the front of the building, along with the lady, told us that there was air conditioning. Upon settling into our room, we noticed that it did not work. I went to tell her and in her most innocent face she tells me that no room have air conditioning, they have 'water coolers'. She totally lied to us! In addition to this, the electricity went out around 9pm until 6:30 AM and they would not offer us a discount or refund. Their kids were loud and played outside all night keeping us up even after we requested they keep it down. Please, don't go here. You'll be sorry!

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelers Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelers Inn & Suites

Address: 3930 Pioneer Trail, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelers Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelers Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelers Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Travelers Inn And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelers Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.