We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Location & Beds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly
Save
You added The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly to your Saves list
1200 Ski Run Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Dream Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love the Location & Beds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Very hard to find a good quality place like this. We've stayed at several other lodges that weren't as nice. We loved the beds and staff was super friendly. Although the lobby closes early evening, you can always reach a staff member by calling. PROS: Clean, comfortable beds, robes & toiletries, great shower, good water pressure, friendly staff, dog friendly, large park-like inner courtyard, close to everything...including some fabulous and fun restaurants: McDuff's Pub, Apres Wine Co. (wine tasting and food), and Cafe Fiore. Close to skiing, supermarkets, shops, the lake, casinos and everything. CONS: Needs better lighting in bathroom and a vanity mirror. Watch out for ice in parking lot. Enjoyed our stay here and definitely will return!

Room Tip: The building has 2 floors. Advantage of ground floor is easy access to car and outside while advant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsromine, Owner at The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! We really enjoyed having you and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    18
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
110
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Let's start by saying the room we had was great. Quite lovely and spacious. The lodge itself had zero charm, the breakfast , a simple continental, was always out of something key no matter what time you got there. Two of the staff people were fantastic, very friendly and helpful and two were bananas. So mixed review. Great rooms but not a fun place to just hang out.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colima, Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

wow!!
this gem always holds some of the best memories for me! and is still one of my most favorites to this day!
so clean
plenty of towels
outstanding customer service
fair price
amazing showers and bath!
fireplace..
need i say more?
and the customer services.. i could go on and on!
the staff went above and beyond making our time so special. every detail was perfect
clean, oh so comfy. and the fireplace was perfect after hitting the slopes as well as the amazing spa bath.

i will continue to tell all of my friends and family about the wonderful experience we had.
thanks again!
i would travel to tahoe JUST to stay at the deer field for a weekend getaway !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed for two nights in a king suite. We'd never been to Lake Tahoe, and we don't ski. First, the staff was extremely accommodating for us arriving late. They left a personal note for us along with directions and our key upon arrival. It was such a warm atmosphere to arrive at.
The next morning, Ali, the concierge, went out of her way to sit down and help us plan out some hikes, some drives, and places to eat. She gave us coupons, drew a map for us, and offered all kinds of helpful insight. We had a fantastic day doing things she recommended. Without her, we would've been lost.
The rooms are fantastic with a snack tray, a keurig, fireplaces, and tvs. Everything is free and clean. They have a free continental breakfast in the mornings, and snacks are in the lobby throughout the day, and they even have a wine selection and bottles are free.
The rooms and the service were fantastic - especially Ali. Be sure to go to the lobby and ask questions - they'll help you.
My only recommendation would be to ask for an upstairs room if it is available. The people staying above us did not go out until 11:00 p.m. came in at 2:00 a.m. each night and stayed up until 5:00 a.m. walking and running around. The ceiling is not very thick, and we could hear every step they took and every conversation they had. This is not a problem during the day, but when you are trying to sleep under an extremely active room, you can hear a lot. This is not the hotel's fault in the least - I just think to be safe, I'd request an upstairs room if possible next time.

Overall, a fantastic weekend, and we will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Request an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

My family and I rented a queen suite and felt very comfortable and relaxed. The concierge, I believe her name was Ali, went out of her way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. I've been to a lot of hotels but never had a place offer us complimentary bottles of wine. The beds were very comfortable and the jacuzzi worked great! The fireplaces in both the bedroom and living area added to the ambience and coziness. The location is great too - practically walking distance to Heavenly and just off the main drag where everything is. All of us agreed that we had a great time and would stay at the Deerfield again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed here for a few nights on our honeymoon in mid-September, and were very satisfied! We don't normally stay at this luxurious of hotels, but this was an occasion to splurge! The online photos give a taste of this, but the place is beautiful. Our room (Luxury King Suite Unit 11) was amazing. The whole place was very classy in decoration and very clean. We particularly liked the in-room jacuzzi! Everything from the furniture to the TVs to the decorative spackle in the shape of trees and mountains on the walls spoke of good taste and attention to detail.

While the room itself was amazing, the overall property was perhaps even better. The location was perfect for us--close to South Lake's attractions but away from the hustle and bustle. The side/back yard area was spacious and wonderful, with nice grass and big trees to temper the light. We loved using the built-in barbecue grills (which nobody else seemed to be interested in--their loss, though you may want to familiarize yourself with the grill's operation before dark). The whole area was visible and accessible through the two sliding glass doors on our room. Being on the bottom floor, we could simply walk out the door into the beautiful grass and trees. With the weather so nice, we also sometimes just opened the door to enjoy the air and the sound of the birds.

The staff were very helpful and made us feel at home. As it was our honeymoon, at my request they scattered some rose petals and left us a bottle of sparkling cider (by request in lieu of champagne) to enjoy. We checked in very late in the evening without incident. When we did run into a routine maintenance issue, they were very helpful and apologetic, and made it right right away.

Would definitely recommend this hotel for those who prefer good service and a slow pace in a gorgeous setting!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsromine, Owner at The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
There is no better feeling than having a satisfied guest- ESPECIALLY on their honeymoon. Thank you for entrusting us for this special event in both of your lives.
Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

I have to admit that I was sceptical about the hotel looking at the facade of the building. I was so wrong! It is a hotel you should stay when you visit South Lake Tahoe. The room is so beautifully decorated - big, cosy, functional, comfortable. The service is superb - so friendly, helpful and making you feel at home. They even offer free wines, fruit cake, snacks, DVD, breakfast etc.

I have accidentally left my leather pants in the hotel which I didn't realize until about 10 days later. Within minutes from my correspondences, they manage to find the item and assist to ship back. Impressive service and attention!


Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly

Address: 1200 Ski Run Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Dream Inn)
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Temporarily closed* ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.