We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for us!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly

Save Saved
You added The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly
1200 Ski Run Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Dream Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
california
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect place for us!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The proprieters here obviously put a lot of thought and care into the lodge. The lodge itself has a spacious and well landscaped outdoor area that we found to be relaxing and quiet. We reserved a 2 queen suite that provided ample room for 2 adults and 2 children. The room was clean, stylish, and well planned. Some of the wood furniture was a bit scratched, but it didn't detract from the room. I could imagine these rooms being used for both formal occaisions and adventure travel. The complementary breaksfast basket was a nice touch. Overall we were very comfortable and Robin went out of here way to help us. Also, it's a nice easy walk from the lodge to the shore where there is a nice coffee place, boat rentals, and fantastic beach area. Hope we can stay longer next time. Thanks Deerfield!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    18
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
110
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I had selected several nice places to stay at South Lake Tahoe to celebrate our anniversary, but I let my wife decide. She wanted a little nicer place and chose the Deerfield Lodge. I would rate this lodge "Good", but TripAdvisor does not have such a rating, skipping directly from "Satisfactory" to "Very Good". Therefore, I was forced to rate it "Very Good".

The owner's official name for their place is The Deerfield Lodge at Heavenly, Tahoe's Premier Boutique Hotel. I would consider this to be more of a motel than a hotel, given that you park your car directly in front of your room. But I'm comfortable with calling it a lodge.

The place was difficult to find because the Lodge sign is relatively hidden and hard to see from the street. Check in was easy and friendly Coffee, pastries, nuts and other goodies are always available in the breakfast room. Wi-Fi is available in the lobby and breakfast room, but we could not get it in our room. The grounds of the Lodge are beautiful.

Our room (#1) was so large that the king size bed did not dominate it. It was a very nice room, containing all the amenities you expect, with dark furniture. The bed was adequate and was lumpy, had sheets that were worn, and the top sheet had little holes. Very nice bathroom and shower, but the shower door would not close, and the water pressure was low, perhaps a conservation measure.

A breakfast basket is provided in the room with cake, breakfast bars, candy bars and fruit (two oranges and one apple). Coffee and a coffee maker are available. Being vegans who eat healthier food, we brought our own breakfast. We did appreciate the fruit.

A little black binder is provided in the room, which gives useful information about the Lodge, South lake Tahoe, and the Lake itself. For example, "Lake Tahoe is the highest lake of its size in the United states and the largest alpine lake in North America."

I recommend Deerfield Lodge, although it did not meet my expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were in complete awww from the moment we walked in. Robin was so sweet and knowledgeable. The rooms were decorated with great Class. The grounds were absolutely gorgeous. Our weekend was by far one of the most memorable weekends for both myself and my kids. The Lodge had a very romantic ambiance. It was also very kid friendly. Robin was extremely helpful with all over our needs. This made for an magnificent wedding for my best friends. The Deerfield Lodge is AMAZING I would recommend everyone to stay at this Lodge. I can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winters, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

What an amazing place. I stayed here because my best friend had her wedding here and what a great time. The rooms are extremely nice. The bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get up. Robin is absolutely amazing and very easy going. Everyone wanted to stay longer and not come home quite yet. We will most definitely be staying here again and next time will bring our dog since it's very pet friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were VERY impressed when we drove up to the Deerfield Lodge and entered the lobby area...!! We were even MORE impressed when we got the keys to our room, a King, and took a look around.

The room itself was magnificent...class all the way around. We were further impressed when we opened the patio door and stepped out onto the landscaped grounds amidst the pines. As my wife said "this would make a great place for a wedding"...!!

The management was great. There were wine glasses in the lobby area and we were told to just help ourselves to anything we wanted...including wine.

Being "city-girls", our dogs LOVED all the manicured green grass available right out our patio door...especially after a couple of days in the hot and dry Gold Country off Highway 49. We even got to meet "Bentley", the resident doggie.

All in all, a very pleasant stay except too short. We're already planning a trip back to the Deerfield Lodge.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pollock Pines, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Robin greeted us at check-in and pointed out the coffee, tea and snacks just off the lobby and offered for us to take a bottle of wine to our room. She told us that a breakfast basket was in our room (sweet bread, fruit, candy, trail bars). The room was immaculate with beautiful slate and granite and a very comfortable bed with individual duvets. The en-suite coffee bar was equipped with coffeemaker, microwave and mini-fridge and dishes and silverware for 2. The grounds are beautiful with scattered seating areas in addition to chairs and a table outside each room. The seats around the fire pit were very soft and plush. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Tastefully decorated enormous rooms, free welcome basket of treats, super friendly hosts/owners, lovely landscaping and surroundings, dog friendly, jacuzzi bathtubs... must I go on? This place is great and I highly recommend it! Can't wait to come back again next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly

Address: 1200 Ski Run Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Dream Inn)
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Temporarily closed* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.