We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly

Save Saved
You added The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly
1200 Ski Run Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Dream Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Deerfield Lodge the last week of February. Our stay met and exceeded all of our expectations. We booked a king suite which was nicely appointed and we were pleased with the extra space for relaxing in the evening and storing our ski gear. The bed and bedding were wonderful and the jacuzzi bath was a treat. As other reviewers have noted, Deerfield is located within walking distance of quality restaurants and just a short drive to Heavenly. Robin and Erik are warm, welcoming, and helpful with any request. We will definitely return the next time we visit Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    18
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
110
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This place was great! Eric and Robin were the perfect hosts on this romantic weekend with my wife. Rooms were cozy yet large. Easy access to Heavenly. Just a great weekend. It's really nice having such a great location, after skiing to come back to a great room then walk to restaurants on Ski Run, we did hot tubs at Nephele's with drink service. Dale M.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center or pool..iPad would let me undo the scores...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were so glad on our first visit to the Deerfield Lodge made us so happy and we are really satisfied. From the welcoming greeting by our hosts, Eric and his two dogs, to the inviting room, we were truly impressed. The accomodations are well appointed with high end finishes and fixtures and make you want to sit on the couch and relax in front of the fireplace. The bed was extremely comfortable and the jacuzzi tub was icing on the cake. Best thing was rooms had two bathrooms to save the time. They deserve a big applause. We recommend the stay in South Lake Tahoe at Deerfield.

Room Tip: Try to get the room with 2 bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peaches0403, Owner at The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank YOU!! for staying with us and taking the time to write to trip advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This lodge was fantastic especially after a days skiing. Nice and warm rooms with fireplaces in lounge and bedrooms. Not to mention the spa in the ensuite bathroom. Very close to heavenly tram to ski fields. Had wonderful massage a few doors down. Everything so close by. Robyn and Eric were so friendly and really gave us there time. Even suggested hot rock ski hire very close by which gave fantastic price on great skis and boots. The cleaners did a wonderful job and we felt right at home. Robyn even put our friends close by for our convenience. We did partake a few nights in the lobby lounge to a few red wines, complimentary and very social. Close to Lake Tahoe cruises, so beautiful, and not far from gondola and shops. Shops right on stateline of Nevada so casinos and great buffets, such good value. Would thoroughly recommend Deerfield lodge and given the chance coming from Australia would definitely return.
Thank you Robyn and Eric.

Room Tip: Take a second floor room. Quieter. Choose a king suite, this includes a lounge and ensuite spa (j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peaches0403, Owner at The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, I hope your journey home was easy. You all were just so much fun!!! It got real quite around here once you left :(
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great big rooms, easy 3 minute drive to the California side lifts (free parking), right in the middle of the action, what more could you ask for. The owner/hostess was great and a welth of knowledge. Discount coupon for ski rental equipment so all in all we could not have been more pleased.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peaches0403, Owner at The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you all again for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My family and I have spent a handful of weekends here at the Deerfield lodge and have always been extremely happy. The rooms are really spacious,comfortable and totally updated. Nice to have two full baths, one even has a huge whirlpool tub. Robin the owner is also really nice and helpful. The location can't be beat...down the street to Heavenly , the lake and tons of restaurants.
We love it here and plan to come back many times over the years.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had reserved three nights here this weekend, but our boy got sick. So the boy's mother was going to stay home with him while his sister and I went up together. We just didn't want to waste the cost of the hotel.

When I called the proprieter to let her know that we would be arriving very late, she asked if everything was OK. So I told her about the sick boy. She then kindly offered to reschedule. I pointed out that I hadn't even asked for this, knowing that the room would stay empty this weekend.

So, even though we called up late in the evening of the first day of a 3 day rental, even though that room will go empty this weekend, and even though I did not even ask for a change, the proprietor is letting us change without a penalty.

That is what I call kind service. Now they are likely to have our family as repeat customers for life!

Imagine the conversation with a big chain hotel.

"I'm sorry you cannot make it sir, but the policy is that you have paid your room in full already and it cannot be rescheduled or refunded."

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peaches0403, Owner at The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you again, we hope your stay with us was as good as the preview!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly

Address: 1200 Ski Run Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Dream Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Temporarily closed* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.