We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Fun, Pristine, Lovely, Pet friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly
Save
You added The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly to your Saves list
1200 Ski Run Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Dream Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
california
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Fun, Pristine, Lovely, Pet friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is a great place to stay in SLT. It is on Ski run and close to all my favorite restaurant, and away from the casino and Mariott craziness. Extremely clean with very soothing decor. Huge grassy and forested run outside the room. The puppies have a blast there. Your hosts live on the property and take beautiful care of the property. Not much of breakfast, but very reasonable prices and super comfortable bedding. Nice and Quiet. Cafe Fiore, Nephele's, Scusa, and Blue Angel are easy walk and all very good food. I will never stay anywhere else. It would be a very nice venue for a casual wedding.

Room Tip: I love the pet friendly ones downstairs; with sliding glass door opening to the grassy meadow and wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peaches0403, Owner at The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for staying again with us, it is always great seeing you and the pups!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    18
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
110
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This place is a hidden gem. A small 12 room lodge. On the outside it doesn't look like much then the inside you will be pleasantly surprised. Tastefully decorated, rustic yet modern. My husband and I went for an overnight stay. Very quiet, big comfortable bed with a feather pillow top, along with two down comforters. A fireplace and kitchenette(microwave, mini frig, and coffee pot) and a balcony that opens to a beautiful lush yard with a table and chairs if you like to have coffee on the balcony in the mornings :). They even had a continental breakfast (a loaf of orange cranberry bread from a local baker, fruit, granola bars, fruit snacks, some chocolate) in the room for us. This place can be a little pricey but I diffinitely feel it is worth it. The location also is close to many restaurants (driving and walking).
For some people this wouldn't even matter. This is just a personal preference--so my only negative comments would be that they only had a 19 inch tv in our room, don't have a spa, no online reservation system and they didn't leave any sugar with the creamer for the coffee. In all honesty the 19 inch tv is too small in relation to where the bed is located and a spa would have been a perfect compliment to the weather--hot tub and crispy cool weather outside(there is a place across the street from the hotel that you can go a rent a hot tub). With this being said we definitely will be going back here becasue this place is so charming and is great. The lodge owner was very nice. Had coffee made in the morning and even allowed us to have a late check out. Don't miss out on staying here. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Dont miss out on one of South Shores little "GEMS". A perfect combination of beauty and bliss....with the most accomadating proprietors! Beautiful decor with quaint and quiet setting, yet conveniently located to shops, restaurants and spring skiing!!!! Can't wait to return this summer to enjoy the warm weather experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at Deerfield Lodge many times. Each time I go to Lake Tahoe for just an overnight or a week. .It is cosistant in cleanliness, beautiful and tasteful decor. The beds are so comfortable its a place that makes you feel special yet at home. Everything about it is convenient from the mini kitchen to lighting and ceiling fans. Nice restaurants just across the street. Fireplaces give a wonderful ambience and the self cleaning jacuzzi bath tubs are wonderful. The beautiful suites give the feeling of having your own mountain retreat with sliding glass doors to the nicely landscaped grounds where the kind and generous owners even allow your family dog! Every aspect of staying away from home has always made me feel comfortable and welcome at Deerfield. Its actually a home away from home. Everyone I have shared my find with is always delighted and feel the same way. I would recommend this for a retreat, a romantic place to stay, a small group ski trip, families and even private parties and I've seen weddings held on the beautiful grounds. Always a treat to stay at Deerfield Lodge. I will keep coming back, and so will my friends! L.B

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Beautiful suite with two bathrooms, which was such a treat as I was traveling with teenage boys. Rooms are wonderfully decorated and cozy with fireplace, leather sofa and throw to keep toasty. Was nice to have tiny kitchenette area with fridge to keep breakfast goodies, although no sink, so I felt bad leaving dirty dishes for maid service. I agree with previous reviewer that room by the stairs is loud, but I wear earplugs at night, so wasn't a problem. Also a plus to be able to park very near room. Lobby and lounge area is warm and welcoming; so nice to have a glass of wine in the evening or coffee and snack in morning. Internet access seems to be only accessible in lobby, sketchy in rooms at best, but its so nice to be able to chat with owners, so makes going to the lobby fun. They are a lovely couple, who are so anxious to please their guests and make sure you have a pleasant stay. There were some issues early in our visit and they were speedily attended to and problems solved in no time flat. This is a gem in South Lake Tahoe.

Room Tip: If it is imperative that you have high speed internet in your room, try a room closer to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Just got back from a wonderful stay at Deerfield Lodge. The rooms were spotless and beautiful, even had two separate bathrooms! Took a day and went up to Heavenly Valley for some skiing. They make snow there everyday so it was actually good skiing with no lift lines! We plan on going back up soon and often. Ten star experience!

Room Tip: Had a great room overlooking the woods
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Such a beautiful place to stay! Even though there was no snow the Lake Tahoe area was amazingly beautiful and this lodge really sets the scene and brings all the elements together to make the perfect mountain getaway!! The room was large and still cozy with a great heating system and a huge comfy bed! My only complaint would be that it was a little noisy being right next to the stairway (as only the one room is, so thats easily avoidable!) and that the feather bed and the heavy comforter were a bit TOO warm!!! Hahaha, that part was easily solved by opening the balcony door for a minute and turning down the heat!! The staff were so friendly and helpful, it was almost like going home for the holidays!!! Thanks Deerfield Lodge!!!

Room Tip: Any room thats not right next to the stairs, but even there its not bad at all!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly

Address: 1200 Ski Run Boulevard, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Dream Inn)
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Temporarily closed* ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Deerfield Lodge At Heavenly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.