We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great staff, great style.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alder Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Alder Inn to your Saves list
Alder Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chico, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay, great staff, great style.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed for 3 nights at the Alder Inn for skiing South Lake during "pre-season" conditions. The staff was there every step of the way for anything I needed. I was very surprised at the amount of miscellaneous goodies provided in what seemed to be a care basket provided for the room. The room had a very modern design and the decorating resembled something seen from much more expensive stays. Great touch. All together, nothing negative to report whatsoever. Many thanks to the staff at Alder for the great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsromine, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! I am so glad you saw the small extras that we do to make your stay even more enjoyable. Hope to see you again as the ski season is now officially upon us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    112
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
68
308
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This cute inn knows how to treat their guests right! We had trouble to lock the door the first night. We told the staff in morning and by the time we returned it was fixed. Further more, they were more than kind to help us confirm the rental reservations which took quite a long time. It was really generous! We appreciate it a lot.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This place has got style! It's not a "super expensive, caters to big groups, nameless tourist kind of place". This Inn knows how to treat its guests right! Looking at it from the outside it just looks like a small, 20room Motel. It's SO much more than that. We just spent three nights there and loved it. Upon check-in the hostess mentioned we were booked into room 5 but suggested we might prefer room 6 instead. She walked us upstairs and showed us both rooms. She was right! Room 6 is decorated in the "city" theme (all the rooms each have their own theme). The room boasted a couch, a Keureg, fluffy bathrobes, & the best goodie basket I've seen (mouthwash, shampoo, conditioner, bath & body works soap, emergen-c, scope, breathe right strips, etc). The room had a fridge, microwave and the cutest little wine glass and bottle opener. The room was really clean and the overall stay was quite pleasant. The only down sides were the halfhearted continental breakfast, the incredibly loud wall heater and the hospitality/cleaning woman who seemed annoyed that we asked her to come back 5mins later after we would be leaving the room. The location is excellent, off the Main Street but only a mile or two from stateline. In summation, this was a great place to stay and I'd highly recommend it. Don't worry about the continental breakfast, there is a great bagel place down the way called "Rude Bros." Overall a wonderful stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in July during our trip through California. We booked the jungle room and were very happy with our accommodations. It is clear that the owners are trying to spruce things up, and they were very friendly, helpful and courteous as well. We were given several dining suggestions upon checking in and some tips and suggestions on what to see in the area. We liked the location of the jungle room because there was a stairway next to us instead of another room, adding to the peace and quiet of the place. The Alder Inn is located a little off the main road in South Lake Tahoe, but still close enough that we were able to walk to many locations. We highly recommend this place and some day when we return to Lake Tahoe we fully plan to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The rooms were very clean and I instantly felt at home. Taylor booked my room and she was very courteous,accommodating,and overall an awesome person! About 20 minute walk from the lake, definitely a must stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsromine, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your stay and for your great review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and the attentive detail Taylor gives our guests! Our location is a good aspect of our hotel...in fact, we are actually just about a 5 minute walk to the closest point of the lake!
Hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We absolutely loved the charm and ambience of this little hotel off the beaten path. The owners have renovated it and have taken great care to all of the little details and amenities. We loved everything about this treasure in the hustle bustle of the hotel world. We were treated like real people that really mattered and our comfort and happiness was at the forefront of this very well run hotel. The staff was friendly and management excellent. We arrived before ck in time and they made sure that they had a room ready for us to put our things in so it didn't have to stay in the car all day. GREAT TREASURE, peaceful and will definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I planned a trip to Lake Tahoe for our anniversary. We were staying at the Alder Inn once more as this has become our " go to" place in S. Lake Tahoe. My wife became quite ill with an inner ear infection and at the last minute we had to cancel our reservations expecting to pay for the 2 nights in full. However, when we spoke to Spence he was completely understanding and offered to refund us or move our reservation to a later time. What a cool humane guy....we ended up going a few days later as my wife felt better. The whole transaction was handled smoothly and we stayed in a beautiful room with wonderful amenities and a peaceful, restorative vibe. This experience renewed our faith in the kind of conscientious service one rarely receives in the world anymore. I highly recommend the Alder Inn!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsromine, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It is extremely nice of you to say all that, but I was just trying to err on the side of common sense. I am glad it worked out for the two of you to come and I am looking forward to having you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....With our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and excellent customer service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alder Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.