We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is awesome!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alder Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Alder Inn to your Saves list
Alder Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place is awesome!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The rooms were very clean and I instantly felt at home. Taylor booked my room and she was very courteous,accommodating,and overall an awesome person! About 20 minute walk from the lake, definitely a must stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jake024d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsromine, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your stay and for your great review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and the attentive detail Taylor gives our guests! Our location is a good aspect of our hotel...in fact, we are actually just about a 5 minute walk to the closest point of the lake!
Hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We absolutely loved the charm and ambience of this little hotel off the beaten path. The owners have renovated it and have taken great care to all of the little details and amenities. We loved everything about this treasure in the hustle bustle of the hotel world. We were treated like real people that really mattered and our comfort and happiness was at the forefront of this very well run hotel. The staff was friendly and management excellent. We arrived before ck in time and they made sure that they had a room ready for us to put our things in so it didn't have to stay in the car all day. GREAT TREASURE, peaceful and will definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fame12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I planned a trip to Lake Tahoe for our anniversary. We were staying at the Alder Inn once more as this has become our " go to" place in S. Lake Tahoe. My wife became quite ill with an inner ear infection and at the last minute we had to cancel our reservations expecting to pay for the 2 nights in full. However, when we spoke to Spence he was completely understanding and offered to refund us or move our reservation to a later time. What a cool humane guy....we ended up going a few days later as my wife felt better. The whole transaction was handled smoothly and we stayed in a beautiful room with wonderful amenities and a peaceful, restorative vibe. This experience renewed our faith in the kind of conscientious service one rarely receives in the world anymore. I highly recommend the Alder Inn!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsromine, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It is extremely nice of you to say all that, but I was just trying to err on the side of common sense. I am glad it worked out for the two of you to come and I am looking forward to having you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights in October and although it was between seasons, the inn was at capacity. Rooms are clean and tastefully theme decorated. Had mountain bikes that were free to use and we enjoyed them. The pool was not open as it was cool and we didn't use the hot tub as it was a little too out in the open for my taste. The staff was very friendly and helpful and suggested things to do and places to eat. The power did go out for about a half hour one morning, so we had to get ready in the dark, but this wasn't the hotel's fault as the power went out in a larger area then just this hotel. All the rooms appeared to be similar in size and I don't think there is one room location better than another. It is in walking distance to restaurants, bike paths, hiking and shops which is very convenient. There isn't a fitness center or restaurant on the premises. Unfortunately, we were not told there was a small continental breakfast set up in the checkin area so went out to breakfast at the restaurant they recommended each day and then the day we checked out I saw that there was a breakfast set up in the checkin area. I would have appreciated it if they told us that when we checked in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLover46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights in mid-October and was really pleased with this hotel. Our room was accessible, clean, and very nicely decorated (had a forest theme). The rooms have clearly been updated in the last few years and it really shows. It was in a great location - walking distance to dozens of restaurants and shops. The front desk manager (unclear if he was the owner) was very nice and even provided us a map to local hiking trails. Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsromine, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and, more importantly, for staying with us! So glad you see us as an affordable spot to stay in Tahoe. The main thing we set out to do is to provide affordable lodging in Tahoe where guests feel like they got their money's worth! Please do keep us in mind next time you are in Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Such a cute place tucked away off of Lake Tahoe Blvd. As the pictures show, all the rooms have a different theme which makes it nice and a great change of pace from the run of the mill hotels/motels in SLT. We stayed in room 15, which is located in the rear building, at the end, street side. A couple reviewers stated the noise from the stairs could be heard but the only noise we heard, was on the 2nd night (a Friday) of the person staying upstairs. We could hear stomping back and forth which kept me from going back to sleep (this was around 7 am so at least it wasn't after the bars closed..:) Other than that it was relatively quiet. Since there were three of us, and the double queens are only located downstairs, we couldn't choose a room upstairs. Those are all single queens or kings. The room itself was clean and had everything advertised. The gal that greeted me at check in was super nice and welcoming. The beds, although comfortable, were a little high off the ground which made it a somewhat difficult for my petite mother but she managed. The only thing we really missed was a seating area (table and chairs) There is a padded bench in the room but that sits below the t.v. so we couldn't sit with coffee and watch tv or play games, but that was a relatively minor detail and since there are two queen beds in the room, there wasn't enough space for that. Next time we're vacationing in the area we will definitely keep Alder Inn in mind.

Room Tip: It doesn't seem like any room would be a bad choice (although I didn't see all of them physi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanP163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a great place to stay in. Stayed for 2 nights in OCT - in between seasons - not fully packed at the spot which we linked a lot. Pool closed for the season but enjoyed the hottub. The place looks like most Inns from the outside but inside I find the decor and standard much higher than I have explored. Very clean and computer beds. Location is perfect.
One more thing, friendly staff and reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.0 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#2 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#6 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
Marriott Grand Residence Club Ta...
#9 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#19 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marriott's Timber Lodge
Marriott's Timber Lodge
#12 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 823 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Landing Resort & Spa
The Landing Resort & Spa
#1 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....With our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and excellent customer service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing