We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alder Inn

Save Saved
You added Alder Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alder Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Rochester, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights in October and although it was between seasons, the inn was at capacity. Rooms are clean and tastefully theme decorated. Had mountain bikes that were free to use and we enjoyed them. The pool was not open as it was cool and we didn't use the hot tub as it was a little too out in the open for my taste. The staff was very friendly and helpful and suggested things to do and places to eat. The power did go out for about a half hour one morning, so we had to get ready in the dark, but this wasn't the hotel's fault as the power went out in a larger area then just this hotel. All the rooms appeared to be similar in size and I don't think there is one room location better than another. It is in walking distance to restaurants, bike paths, hiking and shops which is very convenient. There isn't a fitness center or restaurant on the premises. Unfortunately, we were not told there was a small continental breakfast set up in the checkin area so went out to breakfast at the restaurant they recommended each day and then the day we checked out I saw that there was a breakfast set up in the checkin area. I would have appreciated it if they told us that when we checked in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    75
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
230
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights in mid-October and was really pleased with this hotel. Our room was accessible, clean, and very nicely decorated (had a forest theme). The rooms have clearly been updated in the last few years and it really shows. It was in a great location - walking distance to dozens of restaurants and shops. The front desk manager (unclear if he was the owner) was very nice and even provided us a map to local hiking trails. Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsromine, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and, more importantly, for staying with us! So glad you see us as an affordable spot to stay in Tahoe. The main thing we set out to do is to provide affordable lodging in Tahoe where guests feel like they got their money's worth! Please do keep us in mind next time you are in Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Such a cute place tucked away off of Lake Tahoe Blvd. As the pictures show, all the rooms have a different theme which makes it nice and a great change of pace from the run of the mill hotels/motels in SLT. We stayed in room 15, which is located in the rear building, at the end, street side. A couple reviewers stated the noise from the stairs could be heard but the only noise we heard, was on the 2nd night (a Friday) of the person staying upstairs. We could hear stomping back and forth which kept me from going back to sleep (this was around 7 am so at least it wasn't after the bars closed..:) Other than that it was relatively quiet. Since there were three of us, and the double queens are only located downstairs, we couldn't choose a room upstairs. Those are all single queens or kings. The room itself was clean and had everything advertised. The gal that greeted me at check in was super nice and welcoming. The beds, although comfortable, were a little high off the ground which made it a somewhat difficult for my petite mother but she managed. The only thing we really missed was a seating area (table and chairs) There is a padded bench in the room but that sits below the t.v. so we couldn't sit with coffee and watch tv or play games, but that was a relatively minor detail and since there are two queen beds in the room, there wasn't enough space for that. Next time we're vacationing in the area we will definitely keep Alder Inn in mind.

Room Tip: It doesn't seem like any room would be a bad choice (although I didn't see all of them physi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a great place to stay in. Stayed for 2 nights in OCT - in between seasons - not fully packed at the spot which we linked a lot. Pool closed for the season but enjoyed the hottub. The place looks like most Inns from the outside but inside I find the decor and standard much higher than I have explored. Very clean and computer beds. Location is perfect.
One more thing, friendly staff and reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Alder Inn for several days this past week and thought it provided a great value. The exterior of the hotel gives off this 1970's motel vibe - kinda sketchy. But the interiors of the rooms have been decorated very much like rooms you might find in boutique hotels - soft brown tones, nice linens and pillows, tasteful art and nicknacks in the rooms. Each room has a Keurig coffee machine, microwave and mini fridge. Hotel has wifi, although if that is really important to you (e.g. you need to get some work done on a laptop) ask for a room closer to the office - the signal gets weaker as you get towards the back of the property). The hotel is right down the road from Heavenly resort, and within walking distance of the south Tahoe marina and The Red Hut ( which has great brunch). Owners are great and staff is very attentive. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Alder Inn is a great property in a great location. It is close to Stateline and all amenities you will need are only a short walk. From check-in the experience was excellent. We were welcomed with open arms and given a comprehensive run down of the area and the must dos! Then we were taken to our room which was decorated in a funky way. My wife fell in love with the room at first sight!
The room was comfortable. The bed gave us a great night sleep and the room had all the amenities we needed.
Try Goodfellas Pizza about 100 metres away and finish it off with a sundae from Red Hut. Also make sure you visit Emerald Bay which is about a 15 minute drive away.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat and hope to return in Winter sometime.

Room Tip: All rooms are different so it is pot luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea S.Wales
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

As another reviewer mentioned the inn looks a bit basic when you drive in but the location is good as its set back from the busy main road nearby, but once in the room its lovely. We were given the choice of 2 rooms and they both looked nicely decorated, each with its own theme. I had looked at their own website before booking and liked them all.
We were given a warm welcome and given a few maps of the area as well as suggestions on where to eat nearby.. Our room was large and the bed comfy with nice quality bedding, towels and bathrobes. There was also a huge revolving armchair with matching footstool which was as comfy to snuggle in as the bed! Our only criticism would be the complete lack of drawer space, although we were only there for 2 nights it was part of a 2 week holiday and not all clothes can be hung up and I hate living out of a suitcase.

Room Tip: A lot of the rooms can be viewed on their own website so its worth having a look at, but it was exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....with our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and five star service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! Relaxing hot tub and heated pool surrounded by warm firepits and stylish chic cabana beds. A yummy breakfast is served on weekends, or make your own with in room microwave, refrigerator and coffee/tea maker. Great in room amenities such as body washes, organic shampoos, lotions and creams, healthy snacks, cocoa, coffees and teas. Your cozy room awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alder Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.