We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your Guest Room Awaits ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alder Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Alder Inn to your Saves list
Alder Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Watsonville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Your Guest Room Awaits ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We chose the Alder Inn based on Tripadvisor reviews. It was our first time staying in the area. We arrived late and found the door to the office closed but there was a nice note for latecomers with check in information. From the outside the place looks simple, welcoming. Even the pine cones were lined up in a decorative way as we walked up the stairs to our room. We opened the door to find a room decorated not with the generic cookie cutter decor but rich fabrics, decorative pillows, coordinating wall art and a very cozy lounge chair. A tray on the bed held a welcome note and some candies. Even the wash area was beautiful with a full wide mirror and just about every little thing you could want in a motel bathroom! Including Breath Right Strips, Make Up Remover, Individual tooth brush packs and a wash rag for Make up removal.
The bed was so comfortable it was hard to leave. Ample supply of pillows and a big cozy comforter. The lounge chair also had a lush dark brown blanket of its own.
Outside are picnic tables with charming large wooden tic tac toe and checkers game boards. They also offer bikes to borrow. The pool/hot tub area was very nice and there are towels available right there. Before we left the area I knew i would be returning soon with a friend. I Emailed the owners and simply through email not only booked a room for my next stay but they also changed the room to a bottom floor for easier accessibility for my friend.
It is located far enough off the street that we enjoyed two very quiet nights but it is still so centrally located we were within minutes of great restaurants and we could have walked to the lake if we had so chosen to. Even before leaving we knew this had become a place we will easily look forward to returning to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    125
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
83
346
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at Alder Inn. Was a little concerned by outside appearance but no need to worry, this is a great place! Rooms are tastefully decorated. So cute I took pictures to share with friends at home.The bed was amazing! Wished we could have stayed an extra day. Doug, who checked us in, was so welcoming and ready to do anything to make our stay perfect. Wi-fi iffy depending on your location. Nice plus is location is off main road so did not hear any road traffic.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We recently booked a night at the Alder Inn for our quick trip to Lake Tahoe. I totlaly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling there. We had booked a queen room but were upgraded to a KING! The room was tastefully decorated as opposed to your standard cookie cutter hotel room. The amenities were outstanding, Free Bikes to ride around town, pool, hot tub. The staff was the best; cheerful and knowledgeable. Restaurants are within walking distance. Cookies and snacks free in the lobby, personal keurig coffe makers in your room. Orgainic bath products and more!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We booked the Alder Inn because of the reviews on Tripadvisor, but when we pulled into the forecourt I thought that maybe we had got the wrong place - it looked like a pretty average motel. However, don't be fooled by the exterior. Firstly, we were very warmly welcomed by the staff who were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Note, however, that there is generally no staff on site after 6:00pm. They are always available on the phone, but there were a couple of late arrivals one day who hadn't realised and were wandering around looking rather confused.

The rooms were tastefully furnished and extremely well equipped. There was a decent coffee maker and every toiletry product you could ever need! There was no air-con, but this is common around Lake Tahoe as it does get quite chilly at night, so it's not really necessary.

There was a light breakfast included in the price with juice, muffins, pastries, etc, which was just enough to start the day.

The only minor negative points were that the TV in the room was a bit small and the wi-fi was a bit dodgy unless you go over to the office.

But overall, a really nice place and well recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Alder Inn offers excellent rooms - thoughtfully and stylishly decorated and with great facilities - at good value. It has a motel look to it - all rooms open directly outdoors, onto the parking lot, but not a motel feel. The swimming pool and hot tub is a great facility - the hot tub in particular is huge.

During our stay we did not meet the owners but everything was taken care of. A drawback - no fault of the inn - was nearby roadworks into the small hours.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

A group of 3 girls stayed here Saturday night to experience South Lake Tahoe for the first time. We weren't sure what to expect but called Spencer the night before for a last minute reservation. He was able to fit us in and moved rooms around so we could stay in the Audrey Hepburn themed room. Upon check-in we were escorted to our room and given details of the area and propery. It was perfect!! Nicely decorated in black, white and neon green accents to include a neon green Keurig coffee maker! The beds were very comfortable, plush robes and towels, microwave, mini fridge, crest toothpaste packets, make-up wipes, breathe right strips, etc! They pay attention to the details.

Everyroom is decorated differently but all very nice. Bikes are available for use, pool, hot tub, ping pong table and continental breakfast offered daily.

Location: Quiet street just 5 min walk from the beach with restaurants, shops and watersport rentals. The Alder Inn is about (1 mile) at $10.00 cab from the Casinos.

All staff at this property are extremely genuine and kind, would highly recommend this cute little Inn at South Lake Tahoe!

Room Tip: There are two levels, motel style. I did not see elevator(s) so keep in mind when booking rooms. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I were looking for a sun-filled break from the San Francisco fog. After reading the Trip Advisor reviews we chose the Alder Inn. It was just perfect. Check in was a breeze even though we arrived really late. They were helpful in directing us towards breakfast, the beach and later the casinos (all less than 1 mile a way!) They have a clean and comfortable pool and hot tub area and provide towels. It would be nice if the could put up more shrubbery between the parking lot and the pool area. Our second floor room was very well equipped and I loved its unique charm. The toiletries they provided were also super helpful. I've never been someplace that had makeup removing towelettes and breathe right strips. The only con I have is that our shower was really slow at draining water and so after you would be standing in about a foot of water. Since we were only there 2 days it didn't seem worth reporting, but hopefully that's been fixed.
The Alder Inn was just perfect for our relaxing weekend getaway. Hope to go back some day!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.0 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#3 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#20 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
Marriott Grand Residence Club Ta...
#8 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#26 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#18 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Landing Resort & Spa
The Landing Resort & Spa
#1 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#1 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....With our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and excellent customer service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alder Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.