We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot-will stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alder Inn

Save Saved
You added Alder Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alder Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great spot-will stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at Alder Inn. Was a little concerned by outside appearance but no need to worry, this is a great place! Rooms are tastefully decorated. So cute I took pictures to share with friends at home.The bed was amazing! Wished we could have stayed an extra day. Doug, who checked us in, was so welcoming and ready to do anything to make our stay perfect. Wi-fi iffy depending on your location. Nice plus is location is off main road so did not hear any road traffic.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    75
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
230
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We recently booked a night at the Alder Inn for our quick trip to Lake Tahoe. I totlaly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling there. We had booked a queen room but were upgraded to a KING! The room was tastefully decorated as opposed to your standard cookie cutter hotel room. The amenities were outstanding, Free Bikes to ride around town, pool, hot tub. The staff was the best; cheerful and knowledgeable. Restaurants are within walking distance. Cookies and snacks free in the lobby, personal keurig coffe makers in your room. Orgainic bath products and more!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We booked the Alder Inn because of the reviews on Tripadvisor, but when we pulled into the forecourt I thought that maybe we had got the wrong place - it looked like a pretty average motel. However, don't be fooled by the exterior. Firstly, we were very warmly welcomed by the staff who were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Note, however, that there is generally no staff on site after 6:00pm. They are always available on the phone, but there were a couple of late arrivals one day who hadn't realised and were wandering around looking rather confused.

The rooms were tastefully furnished and extremely well equipped. There was a decent coffee maker and every toiletry product you could ever need! There was no air-con, but this is common around Lake Tahoe as it does get quite chilly at night, so it's not really necessary.

There was a light breakfast included in the price with juice, muffins, pastries, etc, which was just enough to start the day.

The only minor negative points were that the TV in the room was a bit small and the wi-fi was a bit dodgy unless you go over to the office.

But overall, a really nice place and well recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Alder Inn offers excellent rooms - thoughtfully and stylishly decorated and with great facilities - at good value. It has a motel look to it - all rooms open directly outdoors, onto the parking lot, but not a motel feel. The swimming pool and hot tub is a great facility - the hot tub in particular is huge.

During our stay we did not meet the owners but everything was taken care of. A drawback - no fault of the inn - was nearby roadworks into the small hours.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

A group of 3 girls stayed here Saturday night to experience South Lake Tahoe for the first time. We weren't sure what to expect but called Spencer the night before for a last minute reservation. He was able to fit us in and moved rooms around so we could stay in the Audrey Hepburn themed room. Upon check-in we were escorted to our room and given details of the area and propery. It was perfect!! Nicely decorated in black, white and neon green accents to include a neon green Keurig coffee maker! The beds were very comfortable, plush robes and towels, microwave, mini fridge, crest toothpaste packets, make-up wipes, breathe right strips, etc! They pay attention to the details.

Everyroom is decorated differently but all very nice. Bikes are available for use, pool, hot tub, ping pong table and continental breakfast offered daily.

Location: Quiet street just 5 min walk from the beach with restaurants, shops and watersport rentals. The Alder Inn is about (1 mile) at $10.00 cab from the Casinos.

All staff at this property are extremely genuine and kind, would highly recommend this cute little Inn at South Lake Tahoe!

Room Tip: There are two levels, motel style. I did not see elevator(s) so keep in mind when booking rooms. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I were looking for a sun-filled break from the San Francisco fog. After reading the Trip Advisor reviews we chose the Alder Inn. It was just perfect. Check in was a breeze even though we arrived really late. They were helpful in directing us towards breakfast, the beach and later the casinos (all less than 1 mile a way!) They have a clean and comfortable pool and hot tub area and provide towels. It would be nice if the could put up more shrubbery between the parking lot and the pool area. Our second floor room was very well equipped and I loved its unique charm. The toiletries they provided were also super helpful. I've never been someplace that had makeup removing towelettes and breathe right strips. The only con I have is that our shower was really slow at draining water and so after you would be standing in about a foot of water. Since we were only there 2 days it didn't seem worth reporting, but hopefully that's been fixed.
The Alder Inn was just perfect for our relaxing weekend getaway. Hope to go back some day!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have stayed in all kinds of hotels over the years from motel 6 up to Westins and I absolutely loved the Alder Inn. It is a small quiet hotel that doesn't have a bunch of screaming kids running around. I loved the fact that every room is decorated differently and has the feel of a condo instead of a hotel. The owners actually took time to decorate the place instead of just slapping hotel white paint on the walls and putting in ugly cheap carpet. The hotel is very easy to find and isn't located right on HWY 50 so it was nice and quiet. We arrived an hour before the 3pm check in time and we were greeted by a friendly woman in the office and her dog Bailey. Bailey is such a sweetheart and super friendly and didn't bark all weekend. Our room was ready despite being early and like I said before, nicely decorated. It was very clean and had all the amenities of a large chain hotel, Cable TV, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer and coffee machine. There is no a/c but Tahoe in august isn't very warm. They even will provide a box fan for you. The website says fans are available on request but they offered one to us right at check in. They even had several different types of soaps and shampoos instead of the normal thin bar and shampoo/conditioner bottles. They had bar soap from bath and body works and axe shampoo just to name a couple. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the marina where the Tahoe Queen paddleboat docks and from a handful of places to eat. The casinos are about a 20 minute walk from the Alder Inn and I recommend walking because you can take the opportunity to take in the beautiful scenery and see every shop along the way. We ended up walking all the way to the casinos and back twice over the course of the weekend for dinner. The Alder Inn has a ping pong table setup in the parking lot that you can use and handful of bicycles that you can borrow free of charge. We took this opportunity to ride to the top of Ski Run Rd, which is a task and a half I must say. In all honesty, the only negative thing I can actually say about the Alder Inn is that the bikes were a little behind on the maintenance. We still enjoyed our ride and never felt unsafe. Considering the reaction in the office when I told them of the issues with the bikes I have a feeling that most people that use them don't even mention the bikes needed a tune up. I mentioned a couple things and the office wrote them down and set those bikes aside. I will definitely be staying here the next time I come to Tahoe. And considering we didn't have enough time to do everything we wanted to and we chose the weekend when Yosemite was on fire and the smoke was invading Tahoe, we will be having a make-up trip here.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with the Alder Inn. We stayed in room one. Bottom floor, North facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....with our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and five star service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! Relaxing hot tub and heated pool surrounded by warm firepits and stylish chic cabana beds. A yummy breakfast is served on weekends, or make your own with in room microwave, refrigerator and coffee/tea maker. Great in room amenities such as body washes, organic shampoos, lotions and creams, healthy snacks, cocoa, coffees and teas. Your cozy room awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alder Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.