We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alder Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Alder Inn to your Saves list
Alder Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great for the Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Good
1. Large, comfortable bed.
2. Very helpful and friendly owners.
3. Great location.
4. Lovely, sunny pool.
5. Very clean

Not so good
1. Shower ran out of hot water each day.
2. Very dark room. Lighting was poor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, General Manager at Alder Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks so much for your feedback! I am happy to hear you felt you received a good value as that is a priority of ours. I am so sorry to hear you ran out of hot water. We have not had that complaint yet, and only wish you would have informed us so we could check the water heater for you. Each room is uniquely decorated and I realize some are more well lit than others. I would have also been happy to add more lighting to your room. If you stay with us again, please feel comfortable coming to us at any time with any requests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    113
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
69
313
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

New owner was very friendly and helpful. Refurnished rooms were very clean, and the free WiFi and bike rentals both came in very handy. Quiet as it's off the main road, but still just a short walk to the beach. I also enjoyed the jacuzzi and small pool out front. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, General Manager at Alder Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us. We truly appreciate the positive feedback and thank you for staying with us during your trip to Tahoe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Family and friends drove up to Lake Tahoe for the weekend. We rented 3 rooms at the Alder Inn and found this place to be a nice little gem. The outside structure looked like a low end motel located off Ski Run Blvd. So I was pleasantly surprised to find the rooms to be nicely decorated with very comfortable beds. There are 24 units and each is appointed differently from the others.The good things are: the Inn is located 2 blocks from the lake and there are many restaurants within walking distance of a few blocks. WiFi is free in every room. There are always snacks like fruit or baked cookies and other refreshments available in the office lobby. Bicycles are can be checked out for free.The owner Spence is very friendly and caring. The bad are: no a/c but the ceiling fan with an open window are OK during the cooler nights, some of the rooms are still being renovated and a little more cleaning up would help. Other than that I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your stay and your compliments!
As the guest alluded to, we have taken an older motel and designed the rooms in such a way that they are all unique. Some rooms have themes while others have more of a classy look to them...in other words, we are not your run of the mill motel. With fresh paint, new windows and doors with new trim, and a stone veneer, we are excited about the modifications that will bring a fresh look to the Alder Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Found this little gem via Tripadvisor and Travelocity and boy did we get lucky! Absolutely LOVE the charm, the quaintness, the location, and the personality of this place (and it's so clean!). Our first visit was with our family of 5 and it was perfect - a heated pool/hot tub, bikes to use, ping pong, rooms with fridges, microwaves, and coffee makers (and super cute décor!), many restaurants nearby, and the lake at the end of the street. Went again this week for some adult time and a concert at Harvey's - enjoyed our wine/cheese by the pool and the hotel arranged our transportation to/from the concert. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, General Manager at Alder Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to right such a kind and detailed review! You all were such a pleasure to have and we hope to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I came to South Lake Tahoe for a short weekend trip. We arrived at the inn late on Friday and Spence was ready to help us! He was so attentive and wanted to mark sure we had everything we needed. Our room was very updated and the bed was so comfortable. The lack of AC was not a problem at all because of how cold it gets in Tahoe.
Spence and his family went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. They truly make sure you feel like you are part of the family. I would highly recommend staying here and can't wait until we get to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, General Manager at Alder Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We are so happy to hear your enjoyed your stay with us! We truly appreciate you taking the time to right such a kind review. We hope to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunmore, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

First, Spence is sweet and helpful, a very gracious host and quite the southern gentleman. Most importantly, the Inn is in a great location. Also, the lack of air-conditioning really wasn't a problem; the room was fairly cool at night with the fan and an open window. Just a couple of friendly suggestions: 1. Replenish the coffee (K-Cups) daily, include stirrers and little creamers... and tea. 2. Wash the coffee mugs daily. 3. Replenish the towels daily. Overall, it was a nice, enjoyable stay, and I would recommend this Inn to others, who plan to visit the South Lake Tahoe area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, General Manager at Alder Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind and detailed review and feedback. We appreciate you taking the time. I actually printed out your review and posted it as a reminder to the housekeepers to make sure they remember to do those things for every guest staying over. I truly apologize that those things were missed in your room. Please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Alder Inn is the kind of place that takes you back in time because it's got the 'we care' attitude.

Each room is very nicely decorated and very clean. Spence, Jessie,and little Marley & Hudson, are the perfect family that make you feel like you are in their living room. Their Inn is off the beaten track so the noise and hustle of all the people is just far enough away to make you feel like it's your own secluded room. There is nothing they won't do to make their guests feel at home.

THANK YOU SO MUCH Spence and Jessie for making our stay in Tahoe a great memory.

John and Penny, guests over the July 4th weekend.

Room Tip: Just so you know there is no A/C at the hotel. Of course, the weather was great so we didn't ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....With our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and excellent customer service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alder Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.