We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under New Ownership 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alder Inn

Save Saved
You added Alder Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Alder Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Under New Ownership 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

New owner was very friendly and helpful. Refurnished rooms were very clean, and the free WiFi and bike rentals both came in very handy. Quiet as it's off the main road, but still just a short walk to the beach. I also enjoyed the jacuzzi and small pool out front. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, General Manager at Alder Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us. We truly appreciate the positive feedback and thank you for staying with us during your trip to Tahoe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    248
    62
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
212
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Family and friends drove up to Lake Tahoe for the weekend. We rented 3 rooms at the Alder Inn and found this place to be a nice little gem. The outside structure looked like a low end motel located off Ski Run Blvd. So I was pleasantly surprised to find the rooms to be nicely decorated with very comfortable beds. There are 24 units and each is appointed differently from the others.The good things are: the Inn is located 2 blocks from the lake and there are many restaurants within walking distance of a few blocks. WiFi is free in every room. There are always snacks like fruit or baked cookies and other refreshments available in the office lobby. Bicycles are can be checked out for free.The owner Spence is very friendly and caring. The bad are: no a/c but the ceiling fan with an open window are OK during the cooler nights, some of the rooms are still being renovated and a little more cleaning up would help. Other than that I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your stay and your compliments!
As the guest alluded to, we have taken an older motel and designed the rooms in such a way that they are all unique. Some rooms have themes while others have more of a classy look to them...in other words, we are not your run of the mill motel. With fresh paint, new windows and doors with new trim, and a stone veneer, we are excited about the modifications that will bring a fresh look to the Alder Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Found this little gem via Tripadvisor and Travelocity and boy did we get lucky! Absolutely LOVE the charm, the quaintness, the location, and the personality of this place (and it's so clean!). Our first visit was with our family of 5 and it was perfect - a heated pool/hot tub, bikes to use, ping pong, rooms with fridges, microwaves, and coffee makers (and super cute décor!), many restaurants nearby, and the lake at the end of the street. Went again this week for some adult time and a concert at Harvey's - enjoyed our wine/cheese by the pool and the hotel arranged our transportation to/from the concert. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, General Manager at Alder Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to right such a kind and detailed review! You all were such a pleasure to have and we hope to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I came to South Lake Tahoe for a short weekend trip. We arrived at the inn late on Friday and Spence was ready to help us! He was so attentive and wanted to mark sure we had everything we needed. Our room was very updated and the bed was so comfortable. The lack of AC was not a problem at all because of how cold it gets in Tahoe.
Spence and his family went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. They truly make sure you feel like you are part of the family. I would highly recommend staying here and can't wait until we get to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, General Manager at Alder Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We are so happy to hear your enjoyed your stay with us! We truly appreciate you taking the time to right such a kind review. We hope to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunmore, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

First, Spence is sweet and helpful, a very gracious host and quite the southern gentleman. Most importantly, the Inn is in a great location. Also, the lack of air-conditioning really wasn't a problem; the room was fairly cool at night with the fan and an open window. Just a couple of friendly suggestions: 1. Replenish the coffee (K-Cups) daily, include stirrers and little creamers... and tea. 2. Wash the coffee mugs daily. 3. Replenish the towels daily. Overall, it was a nice, enjoyable stay, and I would recommend this Inn to others, who plan to visit the South Lake Tahoe area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, General Manager at Alder Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind and detailed review and feedback. We appreciate you taking the time. I actually printed out your review and posted it as a reminder to the housekeepers to make sure they remember to do those things for every guest staying over. I truly apologize that those things were missed in your room. Please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Alder Inn is the kind of place that takes you back in time because it's got the 'we care' attitude.

Each room is very nicely decorated and very clean. Spence, Jessie,and little Marley & Hudson, are the perfect family that make you feel like you are in their living room. Their Inn is off the beaten track so the noise and hustle of all the people is just far enough away to make you feel like it's your own secluded room. There is nothing they won't do to make their guests feel at home.

THANK YOU SO MUCH Spence and Jessie for making our stay in Tahoe a great memory.

John and Penny, guests over the July 4th weekend.

Room Tip: Just so you know there is no A/C at the hotel. Of course, the weather was great so we didn't ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here over July 3rd and 4th, 2013. I have been in the resort hotel business myself, and traveled the country and I use tripadvisor religiously. I based my stay on other reviews here and on the other sites and I will say my experience with the stay itself was not what I had hoped for, especially for the cost. We had some issues with several things during our stay, some bigger than others, but the whole ball of wax together made us not happy with our choice for the trip. What I will say on a VERY POSITIVE note is that when upon check out I had a heart to heart with the owner about my all concerns and issues during our visit, some of which he knew about, others he did not, he wholeheartedly heard me out on every single item, noted them to work on for future guests and did everything he could at that moment to make sure we knew he understood and he helped us out in a manner we were quite pleased with in the end. He completely turned around a negative situation by being a compassionate, understanding OWNER of the property. I believe if I go to Tahoe again I would definitely try these folks again as I think that as they continue to own the property they are going to do great things with it and you just have to appreciate someone that tries to go above and beyond when told of problems. Thank you Spence for sending us home happy and for showing this visitor that you truly care about your guests. To also end on a positive note the location is fantastic, you can pretty much walk everywhere, restaurants he suggested were stellar, (eat at the Red Hut for breakfast - amazing!), free parking and a quiet property.

Room Tip: Spence is very helpful. If you cannot reach him, do keep trying or leave a note on the door if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alder Hotel
Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#13 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....with our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and five star service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! Relaxing hot tub and heated pool surrounded by warm firepits and stylish chic cabana beds. A yummy breakfast is served on weekends, or make your own with in room microwave, refrigerator and coffee/tea maker. Great in room amenities such as body washes, organic shampoos, lotions and creams, healthy snacks, cocoa, coffees and teas. Your cozy room awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alder Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.