We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“when kindness makes comfortable your vacations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alder Inn

Save Saved
You added Alder Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alder Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Capranica, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“when kindness makes comfortable your vacations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

we can confirm what tab and other reviews tell about this hotel (comfortable rooms, good location, low price, etc.) but we have to underline its great asset: owners' kindness make you feel good when you arrive and it's a big help if you have a problem!
Moreover, obviously, Tahoe Lake is a wonderful spot!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    73
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
229
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, WA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

On our big trip of almost a year ago now, staying in almost 30 places, this little hotelstill leaves us with fond memories, the chain hotels are very forgettable. but alder inn is special.

At first it looked a little hmm....not sure ..old? small?from the outside, but the owners were very friendly and helpful, giving us good advice about what to do in the area, and the rooms were very tastefully renovated, and was a very nice relaxing place to stay.

plus I also had a close encounter with a bear, just the road, on an early morning jog, fantastic!

good luck to the owners, and keep up the great work, the good reviews you keep getting here are testimony it's all going well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Alder Inn has a great location. It is off the main highway. The Inn is really a nice motel. The new owners are refurbishing the property. They are very friendly and helpful. The roo was nicely decorated and the shower was good. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We came to Tahoe to celebrate our 10th Anniversary. I came across the Alder Inn website and fell in love with the place, reserved the room (talked to Spence) and knew this was the hotel for us. When we arrived our room was ready early and exceeded ALL expectations. Spence gave us great suggestions for dinner...(Freshies was our favorite). It was far enough away from Heavenly to be peaceful and very quite, but close enough to walk/bike everywhere. The hot tub and warm pool was great after a day of hiking or biking. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. We will definitely stay again when we go back to Tahoe. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at the Alder Inn for 2 nights during our California road trip last September. The hotel was perfect. We had a warm welcome along with some useful tips on finding out way around. The room was beautifully designed and very comfortable. We wished we were staying longer. While in Lake Tahoe we went to Emerald bay which was a lovely drive. We also did lots of walking around the Lake. The weather was mixed as it was so cold in the morning but it turned out lovely later in the day. We would love to return to Lake Tahoe and if we do The Alder Inn will be our first choice of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My new wife and I were looking for a place to stay and decided to give them a call based on their reviews.

Spence is awesome! Thanks again buddy...

So when I call I let Spence know that's we are on our honeymoon. He suggest the Love and Peace room. Clean, quiet, and peacefull.

They even have bikes you can borrow. Overall we will be staying here from now on when we stay in tahoe.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Owners are very friendly, the room was well furnished and it was obvious that there were little things added to ensure our stay was a pleasant one. I've never seen so many travel sized items left for guests before. I normally nit-pick about exercise equipment, but this is Lake Tahoe so there is no reason to be inside! Great location all year round.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....with our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and five star service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! Relaxing hot tub and heated pool surrounded by warm firepits and stylish chic cabana beds. A yummy breakfast is served on weekends, or make your own with in room microwave, refrigerator and coffee/tea maker. Great in room amenities such as body washes, organic shampoos, lotions and creams, healthy snacks, cocoa, coffees and teas. Your cozy room awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alder Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.