We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a wonderful time, hated to leave” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alder Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Alder Inn to your Saves list
Alder Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had a wonderful time, hated to leave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

To start with the bottom line: We loved our two night stay at the Alder Inn and are recommending it to friends who are visiting Tahoe in July. The beach and wonderful restaurants are within a couple of blocks, making the need to drive and find parking unnecessary. You're only a block from the main drag, but from the smell of the nearby trees it felt like we were in the woods. The bed was comfortable and the decorations nice. The room included a fridge, microwave and wi-fi.  There's a small, clean pool, hot tub, and even a ping pong table (which we had a great time playing). The owner, Spence, was welcoming and engaging. He gave great advice on where to eat, where to hike, etc. Although we arrived late on a night of an usual heat wave, Spence greeted us and provided us with a extra fan (there was a ceiling fan in the rom). We were surprised that there wasn't an air conditioner, but the fan did the trick and we had no complaints.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    125
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
83
346
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Alder Inn on Ski Run Blvd in South Lake Tahoe off the beaten track by only a few blocks offers solitude, a very comfortable bed with good linens, a room that is well appointed with tasteful décor, good towels, and cleanliness. The strong water pressure shower (better than home!) was a plus. Because there are only 24 available rooms the ambience is that of a small boutique hotel without the clutter. You can smell the tall trees around the parking area which add grace to the property. There is a small pool, a hot tub, and continental breakfast on weekends. There is no smoking (thankfully). A couple of "goodies" worth mentioning are the small fridge and microwave, coffee maker...all clean and inviting. The price is worth the good value and we would return again.

Room Tip: Room 24 is quiet upstairs..farthest from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night only but would definetly go back here. The new owner welcomed us, he actually gave us a beter deal when we checked in. He told us that they start "upgrading" the exterior of the hotel within a few weeks.

Rooms are really nice, don't expect a manderin oriental/standard motel interior but a complete and funky interior. Beds are comfertable, no traffic noise. Onwers were very friendly! Good value for money!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were a bit taken back as we drove into property. By description we expected a "boutique" hotel or inn. What we saw was a badly in need of updating motel. But the rooms were clean funky and well decorated with great extras. The owner Spence could not have nicer. Made apologies for appearance due to renovating. I suspected when work is done it will be 5 star sell out all seasons

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review! The Alder Inn has built its reputation, as this guest alluded to, by offering clean, well decorated rooms along with an emphasis on strong customer service. We are now taking it up a notch by making improvements on the exterior!
With a fresh coat of paint, new doors, a stone veneer, and new landscaping, these quiet improvements will only make the Alder Inn an even more enjoyable place to stay when visiting Lake Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at this place for 2 nights on our last trip to lake Tahoe. Its close to heavenly village and Lake Tahoe Blvd. It has differently themed rooms with beautiful décors. We loved our cowboy themed room. Owner is friendly and made sure our stay was comfortable. They were flexible on changing some room furniture per our needs, late check out etc. Highly recommended for cozy, neat and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Take an upstairs room. Look for theme photos on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
185 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Cozy as in what the marketing department says about small units. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Linens and towels were nice, room was clean. Buildings are a bit dated and designed around skiing. Wear is showing, door to room had to be forced to open. Value for price is fair. Made me wonder why others ratings were so high. Will look elsewhere next trip.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We booked based on the glowing reviews on this site and weren't disappointed. Despite its age, the hotel has obviously been renovated and the owners take great pride in ensuring its appearance and facilities are of a high standard.
Our room was a standard size - the type you would have expected of a roadside hotel in the '60s and '70s - but the interior was pleasantly modern, with a large, comfy bed and all the necessities you expect from a good hotel.
Even better was the heated pool - so relaxing after a wander around the nearby shops and marina and a drive around the lake.
Forget the big-name hotels at South Lake Tahoe and try out the Alder Inn... were glad we did!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.0 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#3 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#20 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
Marriott Grand Residence Club Ta...
#8 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#26 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
Postmarc Hotel and Spa Suites
#18 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Landing Resort & Spa
The Landing Resort & Spa
#1 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....With our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and excellent customer service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alder Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.