We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alder Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alder Inn to your Saves list
Alder Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Redding, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was our first trip to South Tahoe and didn't know what to expect and arrived when it was dark. The owner greeted us with a southern hospitality and enthusiasm to ensure his guests are safe, happy and comfortable. The office was decorated with hand painted, whimsical pictures to greet you with what the experience of staying here was to become. The owner walked us to our room which we liked and thought that was an extra nice touch. The room was really cute and decorated like a log cabin. It was cozy and very clean.

We felt safe and secure and enjoyed all the little touches that made this room feel like a guest room in a lodge rather than a hotel room. The location is amazing and close to the lake and has the best pizza place across the street called Goodfellas Pizza. Enjoy!

Thank you to the owners for really making this an enjoyable experience and we can't wait to see ya'all again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    92
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
63
266
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Took my boyfriend this past weekend to South Lake Tahoe (May 11) for his birthday as a surprise. Every single details I had seen on the website, were in fact, in the room! Very, very clean! so nicely decorated, I did not want to even sit on the bed because it was so beautiful!! We had an amazing stay. New owner just started that same day and we were allowed to check in a little earlier and he is extremely nice and down to earth! Whenever in South Lake Tahoe again, that is the only place we will stay. Oh, and very close to all main attractions! Free bikes, yay!! we went out for an early ride and it was awesome! Thanks so much for such a beautiful place. And the price, so worth it!!! The details in the kitchen and bathroom..not even at a chain hotel! you got to see it, to believe it!! Highly recommend the Alder Inn!

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, a premium queen and it was perfect for both of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I originally booked the visit as a first place prize for one of my associates. I was unable to get a word in upon his return to ask him any questions on how the trip went - he wouldn't stop talking! Needless to say, we are impressed with the level of customer service that was provided by the owners! That made the whole trip for my associate! He was so happy with their stay at the Alder Inn, he will be making a return trip with the rest of his family. Thank you Lanyi for making their stay an exceptional one and for making them feel right at home.

Room Tip: Call Layni to book your room, she will make sure it's the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I won a trip through my work and they put us in the Alder Inn. We were greeted by the owners when we arrived. They were genuine people that got to know us and helped us figure out what to do on our trip. They handed us a map and explained where all the main attractions were at. The room was nicely decorated. Everything was included with the price of the rooms. There were no extra charges with snacks, parking ect. The alder inn was a romantic spot and quite. It was close enough to all the attraction and far enough from the chaos. It's a family owned hotel that treats you like family. Would recommend this inn to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Ignore the Alder Inn's tired-looking 70s sign, this a top-notch, quirkily chic, boutique inn of the highest order. Layni, the charming Texan owner and her unique, arty touch pervade every room. From the colourful explosion of pillows, to the luxurious array of soaps and unguents to the hand-painted mantras on the walls, staying at the Alder Inn was far above what you'd expect from a traditional motel. To add to the experience, Tobias, the innkeeper, recommended the Blue Angel Cafe five minutes up the road where we enjoyed a wonderful veggie pot pie and Polenta Napoleon that would have received rave reviews even in mega-foodie San Francisco. Thoroughly recommended, my only quibble would be that they should change the sign to something that better represents the Inn's delightful character.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California, United States
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I went on the advice of the other reviews and was not disappointed. The owners have done a great job fixing up a 50 year or so motel. Every room has a different decor - very whimsical. And, it is a short walk to the lake. Since there is no breakfast room, the breakfast was the only small problem. The Alder Inn has done a great job to overcome this and the other 5 in our group were very happy with the selection.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Hands down best Tahoe experience at a hotel or I should clarify, motel. Thats Tahoe you gotta love the vibe you get from the town that hugs that beautiful lake. The lo-cal of the hotel was perfect. quiet off the main highway but one of the closest to the lake less than a 5 minute walk to the sand with out staying at the expensive condos that are on the lake. Bedding and rooms clean and comfortable. people running day to day very outgoing and friendly. One of the only places I have stayed that I got to meet the owners, they have customer relations and service down. Recommended hikes and off the beaten path spots to visit. Used the Bicycles two of the four days and enjoyed that little extra benefit will be returning this summer with a posse of friends.

Room Tip: Ask for room close to pool and hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....with our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and five star service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! Relaxing hot tub and heated pool surrounded by warm firepits and stylish chic cabana beds. A yummy breakfast is served on weekends, or make your own with in room microwave, refrigerator and coffee/tea maker. Great in room amenities such as body washes, organic shampoos, lotions and creams, healthy snacks, cocoa, coffees and teas. Your cozy room awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alder Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.