We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alder Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alder Inn to your Saves list
Alder Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Napa, California, United States
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Worth the stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I went on the advice of the other reviews and was not disappointed. The owners have done a great job fixing up a 50 year or so motel. Every room has a different decor - very whimsical. And, it is a short walk to the lake. Since there is no breakfast room, the breakfast was the only small problem. The Alder Inn has done a great job to overcome this and the other 5 in our group were very happy with the selection.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    92
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
63
269
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Hands down best Tahoe experience at a hotel or I should clarify, motel. Thats Tahoe you gotta love the vibe you get from the town that hugs that beautiful lake. The lo-cal of the hotel was perfect. quiet off the main highway but one of the closest to the lake less than a 5 minute walk to the sand with out staying at the expensive condos that are on the lake. Bedding and rooms clean and comfortable. people running day to day very outgoing and friendly. One of the only places I have stayed that I got to meet the owners, they have customer relations and service down. Recommended hikes and off the beaten path spots to visit. Used the Bicycles two of the four days and enjoyed that little extra benefit will be returning this summer with a posse of friends.

Room Tip: Ask for room close to pool and hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed with friends. Second time to Tahoe this time we brought along friends from home. Second time here, was even better than first..
Pros: Location near lake, clean rooms, quiet location, homelike furnishings, location to mountain, hot-tub, location by best restaurants. beds and sheets soft, location walked everywhere, wine glasses in room.
Cons: vacation to short, location 2000 miles away from my house.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A great motel to stay at while visiting the mountains in Lake Tahoe. Well maintained and good upgrades with friendly staff. Rooms are clean, new, and well equipped. Amenities include hot tub and breakfast. We would stay again and do recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here for a week. Chad gave us an overview of the entire area including North Lake Tahoe, Emerald Bay, discount lift tickets and local hikes. Also provided us insight on "what not to do". Within walking distance of many restaurants whether you want to go low key or upscale dining. Hot tub came in handy after a long day on the mountain. Close proxity to the uncrowded base of Heavenly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

After a long day of traveling we arrived at the alder inn and were able to check in a little early. We entered into our clean room that smelled so fresh and welcoming. This motel is non-smoking, we are very sensitive and did not even have to question it. the entire motel had a very clean appearance, clean inside and outside. The motel is close to several places to eat which we chose to walk to since the weather was nice. We have decided that this motel is in the best location, close to restaurants, off the main hwy and quiet, and you can see the lake from the street.
Shawna

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Met Layni by email and phone and she helped me pick the perfect room. We stayed in room 24 in the back corner of the hotel our room had a chaise lounger, 2 super soft bathrobes, flat screen TV in a cabinet, microwave, coffee pot, fridge ceiling fan and really quite as the hotel is not located on busy highway 50 but a couple of blocks down ski run street. The best thing is when I researched hotels this is one of the only small hotels that actually has a bathtub which is a must for me. We drove 15 hours stright from home and arrived at the hotel around 9pm was greated by Dawn and she got us checked in quickly and when we opened the door to our room it looked even better than photos from website. The heat was on and the room was toasty warm, i took a nice hot bath and we settled down for the night. Chaise lounger was great for reading and was beside the window. The bed and sheets were soft and plush. We had plenty of pillows and enjoyed a nice quiet night. Wanted Bacon and Eggs for breakfast so we walked a block down ski run to Red Hut Cafe one morning and the next morning walked to the beach and ate at Wildmans in front of Riva Grill. Dinner at Riva grill once again walked to becase the weather was so good. nice lighted sidewalks on both sides of Ski Run street. Met Chad and he recommended some great hikes and sightseeing locations and told us about his hidden gems. Ask him about Fasta Pasta what a great find. See review for Fasta Pasta seperate. Thanks Layni, Dawn and Chad for making our stay perfect. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....With our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and excellent customer service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alder Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.