We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Motel in Tahoe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alder Inn

Save Saved
You added Alder Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alder Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Motel in Tahoe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The 2.5 star rating almost put us off but the Trip Advisor reviews from others convinced me to try it. We were pleasantly surprised. The 2.5 stars are not in any way indicative of the lovely rooms and new clean bathroom and new carpeting in the room. It may be the lack of on site dining (except weekends) or no gym facilities etc. But for our purposes it suited very nicely. We just came from the Grand Hyatt in SF and this is not a 5 star hotel but I can say it is easily the best motel that I've stayed at. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    80
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
58
239
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carson City, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Very nice stay in South lake tahoe at the Alder inn. Our room was very clean spacious new and comfortable. The office employees very friendly and helpful. Recommended places to eat and sites to see. Will deffinately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satsuma, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Alder Inn is very well situated in South Tahoe. This was our first time there and didn't know what to expect. When I go to New York City, San Francisco, Las Vegas, I like to be in the center of the action. Lake Tahoe I want to enjoy for the nature. Next time I will stay in a different area, like Incline. I don't mean to take away from the nicely appointed, clean rooms at Alder. I only wish it was located elsewhere on the lake. Very friendly people with nice extras in the room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thant you for staying with us. However, this review applies more to the city of South Lake Tahoe not the hotel. I'm sure this guest would have given the hotel 5 stars, but his review was more about what town he preferred. We strive for excellence at the Alder Inn and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent 4th of July in Tahoe in 2011 and stayed at the Alder Inn. Reserving the room was so easy and enjoyable! I had some questions so I went on the website and called the number provided. The person I spoke to on the phone was so helpful and patient with all my questions. I ended up choosing the safari room and I was not disappointed. The room had so many cute little touches and was nice and clean. They definitely pay attention to the details here. We would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Each room has a different theme!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Second stay at this motel first was last summer. Experienced great service from the minute we walked in the door loved the new fun office style, Layni has a gift for decorating. Clean clean clean that is why we stay here we never have to worry about the room being spotless. Last but also first the location is wonderful just a couple of blocks from the water but off hwy50 so silent at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This little Inn is amazing. We stopped here on a whim when we were passing through town. Not only was the lobby decorated very retro with pop art paintings, our room was also very cool. We had the best night sleep ever, greta beds and very quiet. We ate breakfast across the street, recommended by Dawn, and it also was great.

Room Tip: they have pics of rooms in the office, they let us choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Wow, read the reviews and decided to trust them! With the "bar high", this hotel and the owners / staff then went ahead and exceeded our expectations!

Don't even look at another hotel...just pray they have an available room and then book it!

The owners Chad/Lanie really work to perfection, as do Tobias and Dawn. In fact, you would think all 4 of them are the owners. They hooked usup with Room 14 (the Love Room) and the advice for things to see and do, as well as perfect hospitality was simply perfect!

Thank you guys, and as promised, we will always stay with on any return visit!!!

Jon-Mike and Holly

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....with our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and five star service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! Relaxing hot tub and heated pool surrounded by warm firepits and stylish chic cabana beds. A yummy breakfast is served on weekends, or make your own with in room microwave, refrigerator and coffee/tea maker. Great in room amenities such as body washes, organic shampoos, lotions and creams, healthy snacks, cocoa, coffees and teas. Your cozy room awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alder Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.