We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alder Inn

Save Saved
You added Alder Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Alder Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Las Vegas, NV
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed here after reading reviews here on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. The Inn looks a little older on the outside but the room was great. Fresh and modern with refrigerator and microwave. The room also had many fun amenities like Twix, EmergenC, tea, hot chocolate, unique soap etc.

The price and location are excellent being just down the street from the ski resort and walking distance to many good food options. The only down side is that check-in and check-out times are strictly enforced- no exceptions, and the employee that checked us in eventually was not friendly when letting us know about their policy.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
I'm very sorry you were not able to check in hours early. When you arrived very early,the previous nights guest occupying your room had just checked out at 11:00am. We were in the process of cleaning your room. Our rooms are always ready at 3:00 for checkin, but it is not fair to expect your room to be ready right when the previous guest checks out. We do allow early checkins, but only when the guests room is ready and clean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    248
    63
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
212
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

A really great place to stay in South Lake Tahoe. It's close to everything, therefore convenient, but also away from the main drag, and therefore quiet and peaceful at night. The rooms have been beautifully redecorated, each one differently from the next, with its own theme, so as others have suggested, if you are booking ahead, go online and pick the one that most appeals to you. The beds are super comfortable, there is a variety of pillows, so you will find at least one that suits your needs, the bed linens are clean. And they do not skimp on the little extras, providing in addition to the standards things you see in hotels: a good razor, shaving cream, deodorant, organic shampoos and conditioners, tasty coffee (as good as it can be in drip machines), a basket of chocolates and health bars, and a pretty standard-sized air freshener aerosol. Good quality items, no cheapness there ... except for the facial tissues, which were a little rough.

So why four stars instead of five? Not just for the tissues, but also because the rug outside the bathtub looked grimy, I did not want to step on it, the cost is just on the edge of being a little too pricey, and we did not get the best of help from the people who checked us in. Minor quibbles really. I actually completely recommend Alder Inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry our tissues were not soft enough for your skin sensitivity. The rug in ther bathroom which you referd to, is a woolen rug that I can assure is VERY clean. This rug has natural color variations in the wool fibers. Your rate of $100 per night is comperable to other hotels which offer the same amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We really like this place; it has such fabulous character and is, frankly, lovely.

We were very warmly welcomed by Chad on arrival and he could not have been more helpful throughout our stay. He advised us on local walks, things to do, places to eat. We didn't see Layni this time but she was just as lovely when we stayed here before.

The rooms...I love that you can call and ask for a specific room and that the website gives you all the information you need to get the right one for you. We stayed in Room 22 which I chose because it was funky, had a king bed, was on the upper floor and had a sofa. It was great; very comfortable and spotlessly clean.

There's not much more to say except that if we go back to Lake Tahoe for a third time, we will definitely stay here again - and will probably sample a different one of their fabulous rooms just for fun.

Room Tip: They are all fab but check out the website photos and take the time to chose the one that appeals to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

You definitely have to experience this quaint and lovely hotel from the inside. Although the location is great, the real treat is the decor and attention to detail. The little gift basket was great - delicious Kashi bars and Ghiradelli chocolate, Wolfgang Puck coffee, numerous bathroom treats (including a good razor even). I arrived very late at night after a long drive for a family medical emergency in So Shore. The owner and onsite manager bith went the extra mile. They even had the lights and heat turned on for me so I walked into a cozy, homey room. The bed, linens and pillows are top quality and so comfortable. This place rocks!!!

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

When my wife and I pulled in the first thing we said was is this the place? But you will be impressed once you step in your room. The decor is great and they go above and beyond with the amenities. Comfy beds, robes, care packages. They have taken this old inn and revamped the inside to make you feel comfortable. The room was a little small for a king size bed but uniquely decorated. The innkeepers were very helpful and were readily available and you could see them running a mile a minute each morning getting the rooms turned over. I would definately recommend the Alder Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We chose Alder Inn after doing a little research, and seeing all the good reviews. We really loved it . The staff were nice and friendly, and Chad and Layni were very helpful and gave us lots of information.
The location is good , away from all the casinos but easy access to all the main sites. There is a nice restaurant called Blue Angel Cafe which is very nice.
Our room was lovely , very clean and bed was super comfortable.
We loved Lake Tahoe and Alders Inn and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We booked our room directly from Alders Inn as we wanted a premium room. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Found this little inn on Trip Advisor and picked it based on good reviews. They have earned my repeat business. Traveled with my wife to celebrate our aniversary over the new Years holiday. Loved being so close to the viliage and the festivities but nice to leave the crowds(mass of people from the casinos) and get a nice quiet sleep. The hospitality was wonderful and best we have experienced in Tahoe. Hot tub was surrounded by snow and made it very private. Wine bar on the corner with great selections. Brought a bottle back to our room and nice to have long stem wine glasses and opener in room to use.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alder Hotel
Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#13 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....with our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and five star service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! Relaxing hot tub and heated pool surrounded by warm firepits and stylish chic cabana beds. A yummy breakfast is served on weekends, or make your own with in room microwave, refrigerator and coffee/tea maker. Great in room amenities such as body washes, organic shampoos, lotions and creams, healthy snacks, cocoa, coffees and teas. Your cozy room awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alder Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.