We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SKI TRIP” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alder Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Alder Inn to your Saves list
Alder Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
North Reno
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“SKI TRIP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Sweet Couple checked us in upon arival and service was quick
Room was comfortable and my husband and I slept like babies
Location was near Heavenly we came to Ski, free shuttle from room up to the chair lift close to places to eat
What we liked best was the small details found throughout the room felt like a bedroom
also liked the couple that checked us in they were helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    112
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
67
308
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed here for 4 nights with my 7 year old son. The room was super clean and goodies were left for us each day. Since it is not yet high season the hotel was no where near full. I think we were the only people there at least 2 of the nights but I assume the housekeeping would be just as thorough if they were fuller. Just over a 1 mile from heavenly village we did walk there a couple of times. It was chilly and a bit challenging with the snow and ice but doable. My only 2 small criticisms- the microwave was really weak (took 5 mins to heat a cup of water) and if you don't close the curtains all the way (with no gaps whatsoever) the lights outside can make it hard to sleep but I appreciate that the place is well lit for safety. The hot tub was on and looked great but I couldn't bring myself to walk across the parking lot in the cold.
A great place to stay!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The Heavenly shuttle does stop right outside of our hotel, it is free and some guest take it instead of walking. We also have coffee/tea makers in each room, an instant way to make a cup of hot water. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We spent two nights at the Alder Inn during a month long trip of the West Coast in November and we loved it - there is a reason they get so many great reviews on here. Yes this is an older style (but extremly well renovated/decorated) motel, but it has what a lot of chain hotel is missing - charm. The rooms are all indidual and we loved our 'wilderness' room - by far one of the most comfortable places we stayed. The hot tub was a plus on the very cold nights we had.
Thank you also to Chad and Layni who gave us some excellent tips for the rest of our road trip.
Would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone visiting Tahoe (which was also a highlight of our trip).

Room Tip: We stayed in the back block - which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Nice outdoor Facilities with ampel parking and well lit. Rooms were bigger than most other motels on our California/west coast trip with room for my Queen sized bed two nice heavy nightstands and plush white couch and Flat screen 32 inch Television on the wall. Room was also well lit for reading and planning our day and featured two modern bedside lamps a very nice Fan on the Ceiling. Lavatory featured a tub which the wife prefered. Good water pressure from the shower. Our room had a Micro, Refirgerator and Coffee machine with fine quality coffee that we enjoyed each morning and evening of our stay. Our room was just above the outdoor hot spa that had very powerful jets to massage away the days aches and pains. The location was very desireable because it was just steps to the lake and many fine resturants. See othe reviews to follow about the Blue Angel, Nephels and The Riva Grill. Breakfast we took advantage of the complimentary breakfast on our early morings and on our lazy day we enjoyed the Red Hut cafe just down the street. We needed the car during the day to see Emerald BAy and tour around Lake Tahoe but in the evenings we walked to everything. Quite impressed with our stay and will recommend this nice inn to many others visiting Tahoe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My new husband booked our honeymoon road trip around California as a surprise for me, and it included a stay at Alder Inn. The only bad thing was that it was only for one night! I loved the décor and the atmosphere was so friendly and relaxed. Thanks for a lovely night! :) xxx

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Chad and Layni have thought of everything .They could not have made us feel more welcome. We were greeted with mail from home. Chad then did everything he could to ensure we saw as much as possible of Tahoe .He suggested places to eat which were great. The rooms, well I had hoped Layni would come home with me and decorated my place. This lady has real taste and she has added little touches that made all the difference. The pool looked good but we did not have time to try it out.I did have time to use the laundry,so very useful.Breakfast outside was something I will not forget .It was delicious and to be outside amongst the trees was wonderful .My only complaint was were not there long enough I would return there any day..Thankyou for some lovely memories

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I went there to celebrate our second anniversary, and it was a great visit. I loved all the little touches and the comfortable bedroom. I also thought the hosts were friendly and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable.

My only concern, and the reason for the 3 rating, was that I had actually booked several months in advance for a premium King, but when I got there, I was given a regular King (room #16) and charged for a premium King. I didn't want to spoil my anniversary getaway, so I didn't say anything, but I feel that the hotel should honor the booking instead of giving our room away to someone else who may have been a 'regular' customer or who had booked more nights than we did.

Whatever the case, I would have been fine with the switch if they had just let us know that we would be downgraded, and then charge us the lower-priced room rate. As it happened, we were still charged premium price for a regular room. I don't think that is good business and I will probably not be coming back.

Room Tip: Make sure if you are charged the premium price that you actually get a premium room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. However, please let me correct some of the details. You reserved a Premium King and were given a Premium King. Your room was located downstairs because we were already sold out of our upstairs King rooms. We do have Premium rooms located on the ground floor because not all guest can climb the stairs. Your room had all amenities, furnishings and bicycles of a Premium room. The average reservation for our hotel is made 4 months before a stay because we sell out very fast. Your stay at the end of July was sold out months in advance of your arrival, hence the reason the upstairs rooms were sold out. Also, your rate of $159 was discounted from $199 to reflect this. I hope all readers of this review realize that you were given the proper room with an extra bonus of a discount. We actually thought the discounted rate was a good gesture on our part. We did fail to mention it to the guest, maybe they thought their rate of $159 was full price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....With our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and excellent customer service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alder Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.