We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alder Inn

Save Saved
You added Alder Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alder Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Farmington, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stay here! My wife and I recently enjoyed two nights at the Alder Inn. It is the number 1 rated motel/inn in S. Lake Tahoe for a number of reasons. First, it's in a great location, close to the lake, shopping, restaurants, casinos, etc. Second, it's adorably decorated. Yeah, it's an older motel, but it's been lovingly updated by its owners who have taken great pains to decorate each room differently and add touches you just don't see in other inns. Third, Chad and Layni are outgoing, friendly and strive to make your stay a pleasant one. (Plus their kids are adorable, too!) My advice, ignore what "I was duped" wrote. If you want "cookie cutter" then stay at a chain motel and enjoy "same old, same old." If you appreciate extra little touches you don't get anywhere else, stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    75
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
230
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
herts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Having made 12 fly drive holidays to the states i can safely say for value,position,and friendly nature of owners you would struggle in this area to find better.If you want to spend more dont assume it would better this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullard, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Alder Inn 6 Nights and enjoyed every minute of it. The room was beautifully decorated and equipped with everything we needed or wanted. Extremely clean, with plenty of towels and robes. Our mattress on our bed was a five star + and I found it very hard to get up in the morning! Chad and Layni thought over everything to make our stay a great place to visit. Since we only had a few days to stay and wanted to experience all we could, Chad and Layni let us know where the hottest things in South Lake Tahoe were to see and do. We will visit South Lake Tahoe again and will stay at the Alder Inn. I would highly recommend The Alder Inn to anyone that is visiting the area. It is located to everything in walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, General Manager at Alder Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it as it always helps us to be better. We took over the property on May 10 of this year, and as is noted by many other reviewers, people seem to be very happy with their stay. I hate that you did not have that same experience. We run the property in the same manor as the previous owners. We own and operate 4 other top rated hotels and we maintain the top position in all of our properties because we genuinely care about our guest experience. We have well water, so occasionally sediment builds up in the pipes, this is a quick simple fix, if only we had known. As is the norm in Tahoe, we do not have AC. Almost no one does because the summers are so brief and the nights are so cool. With a fan and or the windows open it is very comfortable at night as it drops to 50 degrees. I live on site and am in the office typically from 830am-830pm sometimes longer, unless I run an errand. I always inform every guest that I am always available and if I am not in the office to please call the main number as I forward all calls to my cell. I only wish you would have informed us of your concerns and given us an opportunity to make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The owners, Chad and Layni are friendly, welcoming and have some valuable tips on the local scene. They have remodeled this quaint motel with an eye to detail; each room is uniquely styled and very comfy with soft bathrobes, real glassware and good beds. We especially enjoyed the evening soak in the well renovated hot tub and pool area! The cabanas, potted plants and wood panels give the area a private, spa feel even though it's next to the parking lot. The location is great, you can walk or bike to restaurants and the marina. We will return for another visit.

Room Tip: Call them directly to get a premium queen room with all the little amenities you'll need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here. The owner couldn't have been more helpful and offered really good recommendations (including a trip to jelly bean factory on our way back). The rooms were immaculate and nicely decorated. Cool bars/ restaurants and cafes in walking distance. Would gladly suggest anyone stay there :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were in Tahoe for a conference and saved a bundle not staying at the chain places or the Casino and so glad we did. This Place was so cute! The owners were so friendly and gave us great ideas and things to do and things to see. We Stayed in a very modernly decorated room that was amazing, I think Layni called it the "ZEN" room. We've stayed at many places during our CA tour and the Alder Inn is definetly the best. It was very clean and comfortable and all the extras in the room place were super nice and made our stay perfect. We deceided on the Alder Inn through all the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. and they were so right. I cant understand why they are being so unfairly judged recently. I am not really a review writer tyoe but these owners really deserve it for wiorking so hard to make our stay so comfortable. Many Thanks.

Room Tip: Zen room was close to the Heated Pool and Hot Tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments about our rooms and noticing all the extras. It is a breath of fresh air for us to have guest such as yourself notice the details and leave a comment about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Room furnishings were more like a bed and breakfast - each room was unique. The wine glasses and ceramic coffee mugs were a nice touch. Appreciated the fridge and microwave in addition to the coffee maker. The bed was very comfortable and the location proved to be both quiet and convenient. Nice outdoor seating areas to enjoy your morning coffee (but you can only sit on the upstairs deck if you have booked an upstairs room). According to Chad, if you book direct with them, you get a better deal than if you use something like Hotels.com. I guess we'll try that the next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your great comments about your stay. Since you and your husband use to own a B&B, it means alot to use that you chose to stay at our motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....with our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and five star service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! Relaxing hot tub and heated pool surrounded by warm firepits and stylish chic cabana beds. A yummy breakfast is served on weekends, or make your own with in room microwave, refrigerator and coffee/tea maker. Great in room amenities such as body washes, organic shampoos, lotions and creams, healthy snacks, cocoa, coffees and teas. Your cozy room awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alder Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.