We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alder Inn

Save Saved
You added Alder Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alder Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Super friendly and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here. The owner couldn't have been more helpful and offered really good recommendations (including a trip to jelly bean factory on our way back). The rooms were immaculate and nicely decorated. Cool bars/ restaurants and cafes in walking distance. Would gladly suggest anyone stay there :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    75
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
230
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were in Tahoe for a conference and saved a bundle not staying at the chain places or the Casino and so glad we did. This Place was so cute! The owners were so friendly and gave us great ideas and things to do and things to see. We Stayed in a very modernly decorated room that was amazing, I think Layni called it the "ZEN" room. We've stayed at many places during our CA tour and the Alder Inn is definetly the best. It was very clean and comfortable and all the extras in the room place were super nice and made our stay perfect. We deceided on the Alder Inn through all the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. and they were so right. I cant understand why they are being so unfairly judged recently. I am not really a review writer tyoe but these owners really deserve it for wiorking so hard to make our stay so comfortable. Many Thanks.

Room Tip: Zen room was close to the Heated Pool and Hot Tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments about our rooms and noticing all the extras. It is a breath of fresh air for us to have guest such as yourself notice the details and leave a comment about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Room furnishings were more like a bed and breakfast - each room was unique. The wine glasses and ceramic coffee mugs were a nice touch. Appreciated the fridge and microwave in addition to the coffee maker. The bed was very comfortable and the location proved to be both quiet and convenient. Nice outdoor seating areas to enjoy your morning coffee (but you can only sit on the upstairs deck if you have booked an upstairs room). According to Chad, if you book direct with them, you get a better deal than if you use something like Hotels.com. I guess we'll try that the next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your great comments about your stay. Since you and your husband use to own a B&B, it means alot to use that you chose to stay at our motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The owners are very friendly and helpful and the location is perfect as you can walk to the main street and a few restaurants, however this "Inn" is more like a motel. The rooms are all entered from the outside of the building which has 3 separate blocks of rooms all with outside entrances. The swimming pool and hot tub are right on the roadside. The rooms are comfortable and clean however the carpets are very dated which isn't too bad as they have some floor rugs on top of them. I thought I was going to be staying in more of a B&B type place but this was more like a motel although it was ok - nothing stellar just ok.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
We are exactly what the pictures show, a 24 room motel like most properties in Tahoe. We are not a bed and breakfast and do not claimed to be so. Please look at the pictures submitted by other guest and on our website to see exactly how the property and rooms look. The carpet in this guests room was recently replaced and not dated but mabey not to their taste. We have put so much thought and effort into each rooms individual decor and amenities and it saddens us when guest are unhappy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at this small motel while waiting for our time share stay. The little motel is very unique, with personal touches and decorated more like a bedroom than a motel room. Our room had a leather sofa a very comfortable bed and ample pillows. They even supplies bath robes, wine glasses and ceramic coffee mugs. The in room coffee pot was handy in the mornings so we didnt have to leave our room to get our morning fix. They also supplied more bathroom amenities than I have seen in other larger hotels. Make sure you take Chads advice on things to do and where to eat. Even though we have been to South Lake several times in our time share, he told us of places to go that we did not know about. Maybe we will even drop back by to say hi while we are in town!

Room Tip: take Chads advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We are so glad you were able to enjoy your wine glasses and bath robes, it was fun sitting around the fire pit chatting with you both. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in room 116 for two nights, 13th/14th Sept. The location is first class, very quiet yet the lake is a very short walk away, where you can eat overlooking the bay or take a trip on the paddlewheeler The Tahoe Queen. Lots of good restaurant/bars all within a short walk.
This is NOT a corporate Hotel, but if you like individuality ((the rooms are individually decorated) to be comfortable (very comfy beds) with nice touches like makeup removal wipes, toothpaste and deodorant provided, then you will love this hotel. I slept like a baby and the breakfast (included in the price) was great.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We really appreciate your positive comments about our family run motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We booked the room directly on their website. A little more perks when you do, e.g. Second story, king room & use of the bikes. When we arrive the owner gripes to us about an early guest, we arrived at exactly 3pm, check in time, according to the website. No welcome, thank you for booking direct, choosing us, or a simple hello. We are shown to the room by the overly chatty owner. It is small remodeled motel room, still using keys. Bed is a king, with super hard pillows but well decorated,suggestion:get rid of the robes & get feather down or softer pillows. We go down to the pool area cause they have some cool cabanas to chill out on, don't know the last time they cleaned these cabana sheets, and the cabanas further away had bugs under the pillows. This isn't our first time in Tahoe, so I know what to see, do and avoid, but when I go to the front desk on another day to ask for a map & info the owner mentions something bout my partner not wanting his info when we arrived, WTF. The owners are on the premises constantly, water plants, cleaning a leaf or two from the pool, going to and from laundry room, turning on sprinkler system without any concern about the cars they get wet. They exhaused me just seen them. This is not a welcoming couple, never once did they smile, say hi. We spent good money staying at this hotel, I even forfeited my love of a gym to stay at this ma & pa location. Why oh why are they in the hospitality business.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
As the owner, I can assure you that we greet each guest and are so thankful they chose our hotel. This guest used very foul abbreviated language in this review, WTF, which Tripadvisor refused to remove. This language is inappropriate and we are very disappointed it has been allowed on this family site. I will comment on a few if this guests issues:
1. We do use keys for our doors. How else would you get into your locked room?
2. The majority of our guest love our plush bath robes and your recommendation to get rid of them is ridiculouse.
3. We choose not to have down pillows because many guest are allergic. Being in the hospitality industry we know and would not expect you to think of it.
4. You mentioned the hotel owner was "overly chatty", but yet did not give you information. This does not even make sense. We give each guest as much info as possible to make their stay great. Perhaps the issue was with your partner.
5. Our cabana beds are located outside by the pool under the pine trees. We try very hard to keep our pool area meet and tidy. On very windy days it is impossible to keep every pine needle off all day long. This doesn't make sense because you even stated that you were annoyed with us always working and cleaning.
6. As the owners living on site we are always busy, most guest view this as a good thing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
Free Parking, B...
Show More
1.0 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#3 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#12 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
1.0 mi away
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
Marriott Grand Residence Club Ta...
#10 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budget, Free in...
Show More
1.2 mi away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#6 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Beach, Budget...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#37 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Free Parking, M...
Show More
0.9 mi away
3 Peaks Resort and Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort and Beach Club
#11 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....with our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and five star service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! Relaxing hot tub and heated pool surrounded by warm firepits and stylish chic cabana beds. A yummy breakfast is served on weekends, or make your own with in room microwave, refrigerator and coffee/tea maker. Great in room amenities such as body washes, organic shampoos, lotions and creams, healthy snacks, cocoa, coffees and teas. Your cozy room awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alder Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.