We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Will Be Back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alder Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Alder Inn to your Saves list
Alder Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Announcement
Get a FREE night!
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We Will Be Back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay in South Lake Tahoe. The location is great, close to restuarants and walking distance to the lake. Each room is decorated with the owners personal touch and are clean and comfortable. The pool has been nicely renovated and is a great pleace to hang out. The Alder Inn is a family run hotel and the owners go out of their way to make sure your stay is enjoyable. Make sure you book directly with the hotel and you will get better room rates and be allowed acces to the complimentary bikes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    90
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
62
261
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Our stay was pleasant and the reviews here lead us to believe that we in for a 5 star stay.
Starting with the good is the location. Although not in the "thick of it" it was a five minute drive to what South Lake has to offer. The grounds appear to well enough tended to and you can see that some personal attention has been made to the property. The rooms offer a nice look and decor and the beds are indeed comfortable.
This is an older property and it shows through the new layers of paint. The walls are indeed thin. We noted that we should keep our voices down as it was easy enough to hear every word of the neighbors conversation. Unfortunately our neighbors weren't as considerate, but this is not the fault of Alder Inn, but do note the other reviews regarding the thin walls. Also, when at capacity there is not enough parking spots in the lot as we noted that some cars had to make there own spaces overnight.
Being an older property, the previous life of the Alder Inn shows it's face in some places. The rooms smell of being previously allowed to be smoked in. I know that Alder's policy is 'no smoking' and understand this smell is difficult to get rid of and usually requires new flooring and replacing the 'popcorn' ceiling (this is what worked for our current home at least). So maybe these improvements are on the way, as you can see the place is being updated in other aspects. Our toilet seemed to run and required a deft touch of the handle to stop it. But these things we could easily look past as we knew going in that this is not a brand new resort hotel.
Some things which we could not look past though were the lack of security of the rooms and some plumbing issues. The security issue we noticed upon entering the room. The dead-bolts of the rooms are not accessible from the outside. A sticker covering the dead-bolt with the words "DO NOT USE" made us aware that the only thing locking the room when not inside is the door knob lock. Also the windows need updating with a modern locking system as they are the older sliding style which can be pushed open. Without a in-room safe we felt that we needed to keep our our valuables with us or in the car. The plumbing issue was that if you are taking a hot shower and someone nearby flushes a toilet you are in for a hot nearly scalding spray. This happened to me twice and made me wary of using taking too warm of a shower.
We also noticed, and maybe this was just the timing of our stay, there didn't appear to be too many families/children here. Being that we were without our children we saw this as a plus, but probably won't consider bringing them here as we didn't get that "family" vibe during our stay.
I realize that our 3 star review might not match with the other reviews of the Alder Inn and we really wanted it to be a five star stay. As you can tell from our previous reviews we do offer 5 stars easily. But some of the issues we had with our stay at Alder Inn could not be overlooked. The Alder Inn is a 3 star type of hotel but the pricing is above average and due to these prices we raised our expectations. I see Alder Inn as improving will not hesitate to look into staying here again given that they secure the rooms with a proper locking system and take care of the nearly scalding shower-plumbing issue.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side seemed to offer better airflow. Having no AC, this makes for a cooler room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
It sounds as if you hated your stay, so I will address each issue from our side.
1. The grounds are indeed attended to. I personally plant and care for each flower, it is my yard and I love making it beautiful.
2. The rooms are newly decorated and designed also by me.
3. Sorry you had a loud neighbor, this is not a typical problem and has not been noted often in previous reviews.
4. We do have ample parking. We have 1 place per room and 2 additional overflow spaces. It is not our fault if someone chooses to park incorrectly outside of a marked spot. I'm not at all sure why this was concerning to you since no one was blocked by their parking.
5. Our property is non smoking.....not sure why this was addressed.
6. If the toilet needed attention we wish you would have asked or mentioned it to us.
7. Yes, I have placed a gold sticker on the outside of the deadbolt locks because it was too confusing for most guest. I hope all readers note that we do things for the majority of guest actions not for 1 guests oppinion.
8. The deadbolt is stricktly for security while you are in the room. As with most hotels, our doors automatically lock when the door is shut.
9. The windows have 2 locking mechanisms, not sure how this could possibly be improved.
10. You should have asked us about a safe, we could have provided you with one but you did not ask. As the owners, we live on site and are always here.
11. This is the first time we have ever heard about scalding water temperature issue. I wish you would have let us know about the problem so we could have fixed it during your stay.
12. We have plenty of families that stay here. Im sorry there was not many children at your time of stay, I find it strange that this was noted in your review. On the flip side, if we would have had children running around you might have made a negative comment about it.
****For future guest and review readers, please alert your host of problems so they can be addressed during your stay. Unfortunately we are not mind readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

The Alder Inn is the perfect place to stay in South Lake Tahoe due to a number of factors!
Firstly, the location is brilliant..it's just a short walk away from the lake itself as well as having several restaurants and shops nearby.
Secondly, the inn itself is lovely! The rooms are clean and comfortable with great showers and lots of extras to make your stay more comfortable such as a variety of complimentary toiletries and snacks upon arrival. The pool area is also great, well maintained and open 10am-10pm which are much better hours offered by most hotels! In addition to the pool area there is also a ping pong table, skipping rope and bikes available to keep you entertained! If you're lucky enough to be staying at the weekend you'll also be treated to the ample continental breakfast which was delicious!
Last, but certainly not least, the inn has a great asset in the form of the owners who have a wealth of knowledge about the area which they are happy to share in order to enable guests to get the most out of their stay! One piece of advice I'd give to all travellers is to ensure you book direct with the owners via their website in order to ensure you get the best rate and rooms available (& access to the complimentary bikes!) and stop travel companies from taking a huge cut from the owners' well deserved profits!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

We recently went to lake Tahoe for part of our honeymoon found the Adler inn on tripasvisor And I M so glad we did! It was the best hotel we have ever stayed in! The husband and wife who owned it are probably the nicest people you will ever meet they were so helpful and always made you feel at home! Not to mention thats how the rooms were too, the way the decorated was amazing and unique. I don't think I can say one negative comment about this place. I highly HIGHLY recommend anyone who comes to south lake Tahoe to stay here. When we left to go to SF It was hard to find a hotel to compare to the Adler inn! Nothing is as good as them! Thanks for an awesome stay you made or honeymoon wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The external view of this accommodation dosent do it justice! Owners Chad and Layni were very helpfull. Rooms nicely furnished and I believe all individual, with Layni painting on the walls and lots of useful goodies. Easy access to all attractions, restaurants and bars nearby. This was our first visit to Tahoe and we had 2 nights but wish it had been able to stay longer. The pool area looked very nice with plenty of beds but we didnt have time to try it! Our aim is to include this in a future visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the Adler for a weekend getaway in June and had a great time. We were able to walk to many attractions, and had fantastic service from Chad & Layni. They definitely care and pay attention to every detail. What a great spot-- we'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We booked this place for our 4 day stay in South Lake Tahoe off recommendations from Trip Advisor. One of the great things about this place is that it's just off the main drag through town so you avoid the traffic noise. The bed we had was very comfortable and the rooms have little details that add a bit of flair to your stay. You can tell the owner really makes an effort to give you a great stay. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....with our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and five star service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! Relaxing hot tub and heated pool surrounded by warm firepits and stylish chic cabana beds. A yummy breakfast is served on weekends, or make your own with in room microwave, refrigerator and coffee/tea maker. Great in room amenities such as body washes, organic shampoos, lotions and creams, healthy snacks, cocoa, coffees and teas. Your cozy room awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alder Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.