We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alder Inn Memorial Day week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alder Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alder Inn to your Saves list
Alder Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Alder Inn Memorial Day week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Greetings,

We stayed a few days in South Lake Tahoe and at The Alder Inn last week. The place was great (and provided for recycling which is big for me). Chad and Layni were excellent hosts.While I agree with other reviews that the walls were thin, this place beat any chain hotel by far.

Marvin Grubbs

Room Tip: The upstairs room was the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    92
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
63
269
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I felt like overall this place was very clean, friendly and in a good location. There is one little hot tub area that was great. They had decorated it very nicely and made it as private as you could for the space provided. I loved sitting in the hot tub at night surrounded by snow. The only con I could think of was the owners (husband and wife) live at the the hotel and were a bit nosy! This place did show great pride of ownership!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiruninn, Owner at Alder Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Our hotel office is attached to our living room and kitchen and we are always on site working. The hot tub is directly across from the office, so yes, we can see it if we are in our office or living room. Our hot tub area is semi-private, but that does not mean that inapropriate activities can take place. Nosy or not, when we see things happening that could make other guest uncomfortable we do something about it. Pride of ownership means that we take care of our hotel but also expect others to respect our property and other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC, UT
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Wow! The Alder in was more than we expected! My husband and I visited Tahoe for the first time for a birthday/anniversary trip. Chad and Layni were very welcoming and upon our arrival, gave us lots of info about the area and things to do and see. The location was perfect....a couple blocks off the main road in the heart of South Lake Tahoe and walking distance to the marina and a couple of restaurants. The rooms are all very well decorated. You can tell they care a lot about the comfort of their guests. The bed and pillow were so comfortable. There were lots of little extras like icy hot, vitamin packets, make-up remover cloths and chocolates. There was also a real hair dryer! Not the chintzy one you usually find attached to the wall in any other place. I kept saying, it doesn't feel like a motel, it feels like we are at home. We didn't get a chance to use the pool or hot tub but they both looked nice and they had cute little cabanas around the pool area. Lake Tahoe is beautiful and The Alder Inn is the the perfect place to stay. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed in South Tahoe for two nights. It was our first time in Tahoe and didn't quite know what to expect. We were greeted by Chad and Layni who were both just wonderful. We felt right at home right away and were impressed by the room decor as well as the extras in the room. It was nice and quiet and felt very safe and homey. i would highly recommend staying here and will stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room, I think that they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed here for one night last week as part of a longer roadtrip around California. Were not disappointed after reading so many great reviews - the attention to detail was lovely. We didn't need to make use of them but I loved that there were aching back and cold remedies in the little basket, as well as a makeup remover cloth and so many toiletries! And the little message on the back of the door was also very sweet.

Layni and Chad were very friendly - we were also given the tip to check out the sunset and it was well worth it. Recommend the Riva restaurant, very convenient for the Inn and we really enjoyed our meals.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotati, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed there last weekend and enjoyed a comfortable bed in a nice room and terrific hosts. The couple who runs the place have worked very hard to make the place feel like a B&B. I'd definitely stay there again and suggest you try it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We spent two nights here in early April. Only praises for this charming home away from home.
LOCATION: Excellent. In a quiet street just off the main road that goes around the lake. Very convenient for all local attractions, next to good places to dine (try RIVA in the small port just 200 meters down the road). The lake is at the end of the street
ROOMS: Proprietors Chad and Layni took a ’69 motel and transformed it into a lovely modern hotel. The rooms are not large (as the structure is some 40 years old) but are very modern and very comfortable with all possible amenities, some of them you will not find even in 4 star hotel (sun screen and a packet of pills against cold or headache, his and hers toiletries, wine, chocolates and much more…). Each room is individually decorated but some original features, like doors, nobs etc were maintained which we found really cool. Very comfy bed.
OWNERS: Chad and Layni are charming, not imposing and yet always available for a good advise or a chat. They have helped us plan our two nights stay and we have enjoyed their recommendations – from site seeing to restaurants.
EXTRA: They have a Laundromat you can use on site, and ample parking . We woke up to find the place cover with the fresh layer of snow – amazing…We found the place very romantic.
WE WILL DEFENETLY VISIT AND STAY AGAIN…

Room Tip: All rooms seems nice, but we liked staying on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alder Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alder Inn

Address: 1072 Ski Run Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alder Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you dreaming of the perfect hotel for your Tahoe vacation? WE make dreams come true....With our modern plush furnishings, princess quality bedding and excellent customer service, you will be treated like royalty. Family owned and operated, from reservation to housekeeping! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alder Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alder Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alder Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.