We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make the time to come out here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taylor Creek Visitor Center

Taylor Creek Visitor Center
Hwy. 89, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
530 573 2674
Improve this listing
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
Flower Mound, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Make the time to come out here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

You can read about Taylor Creek's offerings in other posts. What I wish I had known was that it would be a great place to picnic and ride bikes. If you are coming out here in the summer or fall, consider renting a bike at Camp Richardson and riding north to Taylor Creek. Bring a picnic lunch to eat at the beach. The visitor center is not open during the weekday so bring some water with you.

Please be curious but courteous. The ecosystem is fragile and letting your kids run amuck (like those my family encountered) will ruin this area in the years to come. Stay on the trails; take only photos and leave only footprints.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    29
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arnold, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice Stop For You, The Kids , And You Dog, Too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Gorgeous scenery! Take a walk through the lush wetlands at the Southern edge of Lake Tahoe. While I imagine the landscape changes somewhat throughout the year, in early June it was lush, green, and beautiful. There are informational plaques that tell you about the wetlands,and there are benches along the way where you can sit and listen to the aspen leaves rustle in the breeze while songbirds answer each other's call, with the sound of Taylor Creek in the background. The kids will love the stream profile room where they can watch the fish in Taylor Creek and learn a little bit about them. Dogs aren't allowed in the stream profile room, but they're welcome everywhere else. There's usually a dog water bowl at the water fountain next to the visitor center, and you can take a trail about 600 yards out to Lake Tahoe and a dog friendly beach.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Wow! Didn't expect all this”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I went to the visitor center to ask a question, but when I got there I got way more than expected. There is a trail called, Rainbow Trail that takes you through meadows, a marsh area and onto Taylor Creek. The area was so quite, except for the various birds chirping that I found it a deeply spiritual experience. There's even a viewing area where you can see the fish of Taylor Creek through a glass display.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las vegas, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Accidental find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

While driving south on Hwy 89 we came upon a small dirt roadsde parking spot next to this river {Taylor Creek) flowing under the Hwy. Began hiking west upriver on a cleared but undeveloped trail that followed the waterway with spectacular forest and moutain scenery. Returning to our starting point we headed east on a very well marked and developed trail (mostly paved). Easy walking down to the Tallac area of Lake Tahoe. Along the way we came across and underwater veiwing buildng of the river habitat along with a visitors center and outdoor pavilion. There is parking at the visitor center accesible further south of where we parked along the hwy. This area is another can't miss tranquil Tahoe nature experince. An hour for a quick visit, but definitely better enjoyed as longer day experience. With picnicking at the many spots along the trail or most definitely lakeside on the beach.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Kokanee Salmon Spawn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Worth the trip to Tahoe just for this. To avoid the crowds, plan your visit during the week in the Fall.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taylor Creek Visitor Center also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Taylor Creek Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taylor Creek Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.