We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I regret I have stayed in this motel - very low value for money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Emerald Bay Lodge to your Saves list
Emerald Bay Lodge
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   735 Emerald Bay Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6500 (Formerly Pine Cone Acre Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Qiryat Ono, Israel
1 review
“I regret I have stayed in this motel - very low value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

I have arrived to this motel at Friday early afternoon, looking for accommodation for one night.
I was told that only one room (their most expensive one, probably) was left. Now I suppose this was done just to put pressure on me - the "vacancy" sign remained lit until the next morning...
Asking about that, I have received several "stories" as a reply.
Room price was $110 + tax.
This room (No. "A") is built as an hut on top of the motel office. Although large, it seems to be built by an amateur, and its accommodation is poor: Wi-Fi is available, but there is no appropriate surface to put your lap-top on (only place I could find was on the micro-wave). Shower head is at shoulder height. Windows are facing the main road, therefore room is very noisy.
Maintenance level is even worse - Shades are broken, one of the chairs is broken and really dangerous, most of light bulbs in the room are blown, shower door can hardly be opened, air-condition unit is very noisy.
In short - I would not recommend anybody to stay there - mainly because I can not trust the motel operators (they claimed they were not the owners,but I can not sure about that). In Motel 6 (one mile away) - you get a much better room in about half the price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OdedF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

This is a motel on a road of many such motels. It is close to S. Shore parks and beaches and Fallen Leaf lake - hiking, sailing, swimming etc. It is a very convenient location and seems to be well kept up considering its age

What it is: comfortable bed, fully functional and well-equipped kitchenette, as much hot, great pressure water as you could need.

What it is not: a 4 or 5 star resort property

We just stayed here for 5 nights and it was perfect for us. It is a little rough around the edges (old linoleum in bathroom, etc) and it might be noisy if all the units were full.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suttercreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

What a quaint hotel that is built where the trees grow throughout the complex which makes the rustic hotel theme suit the location. The parking lot has been configured to make the most of those wonderful California Redwoods and Pine trees.

Staff is friendly and courteous and the rooms are clean and neat. There are several restaurants within very short walking distance which makes this motel an even better place to stay. It is quiet and cosy without the hustle and bustle of main street traffic.

This is our third year staying at the Pine Cone Acre Motel, and will continue to do so for the foreseeable future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariella129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

It was not clean, it was not cheap and I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WackyBush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

We stayed here in early June and had a very pleasant experience. The receptionist was very perky and happy to help with any request, such as the heat. We were afraid that it would be chilly at night and asked if the heaters were working. She said that the pilot lights were off on most units for the summer but would have it turned on if we needed it. Turns out, our units heater was on, but before we knew that the receptionist was knocking at our door to check it out.

Yes, the bathroom leaves a bit to be desired, but look...it's a motel... And the price is right. We are going back this weekend and look forward to another good stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaBettyBoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Page Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

We stayed at this location for the 4th of July holiday. At check-in, the staff was extremely friendly. We talked to the owner that reminded me of a true ownership proprietor. You could tell she took pride in her offering and was giving a new employee tips on running credit cards etc. The room was a surprise. Details like little silk plants, little doo-dad artwork pieces, a very well-stocked kitchen with colorful dishes and cups/glasses and all the utensils, all added up to a great impression. The bathroom although smallish, was effective. I gave 4-stars as the toilet need a small touch-up in a tight area that most housekeeping doesn't see. I own a B&B and am the sole cleaner....I see these things. They fixed it upon request immediately. Previous reviewers most likely encountered another owner, as this ownership is obviously new and recent. They are not old and crabby! I wouldn't expect the walls to be fully sound-proofed as this establishment is true to the small cabin construction. If you want Hilton, go to Hilton. If you want something a bit more down to earth and EFFECTIVE, try this place out. It will surprise you!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiciPageArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

A queen bed and kitchenette for <$100 on Christmas weekend on the west side of SLT? Yeah, I'll definitely check it out. Except for a casino, the other rates in town are all $100 - $200+, and for what?

I reserved a one-bed + kitchen online for a ski weekend and had no problem with the reservation. The front desk staff was polite, as was the maintenance guy we met later. Didn't seem old, crazy or extremely rude to us.

The room (which was more like a small studio apt.) exceeded my expectations with a 3/4 size fridge, 4 burner stove, microwave, coffeemaker, and full compliment of dishes. Being able to cook is a big plus for me. To hell with 10$ ski lodge chili.

I didn't check to see the if the adjoining door (which are commonplace in almost all hotels) was locked. Also, our bathroom worked fine, with hot water and good pressure.

Two small gripes force me to subtract one star. First, the pilot light in the heater went out and the on-site staff, though friendly, wasn't able to light it. Luckily the maintenance guy arrived a few minutes later, resolved the issue, and showed us how to do it ourselves in case it happened again. Second, you can definitely hear what is happening around you, so either get loaded, sleep heavy, or bring some ear plugs.

I strongly recommend you stay somewhere else so I can have this room to myself.

  • Liked — kitchen, price, location, service
  • Disliked — noise and heater issue
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sunkenstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
2.8 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#24 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#19 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 471 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Landing Resort & Spa
The Landing Resort & Spa
#1 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#29 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
4.5 mi away
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Taho...
#30 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
4.4 mi away
3 Peaks Resort and Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort and Beach Club
#16 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Bay Lodge

Address: 735 Emerald Bay Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6500 (Formerly Pine Cone Acre Motel)
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Bay Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our recently renovated rooms were designed with you in mind. We offer all the amenities needed to feel right at home. Located just a short drive from beautiful Emerald Bay, one of the most photographed spots in the world. Maybe you have come to take advantage of our hiking trails, bike paths, ski slopes, beaches, night life, Lake Tahoe has it all. If you prefer a much slower pace what better place, surrounded by pine trees you can rest, relax and rejuvenate here at Emerald Bay Lodge.  The absolute best Personal Care Amenities  Flat panel TVs  Free Wi-Fi access  Microwave and fridge  Kitchenette units available  Daily housekeeping service  Complimentary bike use (summer season)  Breakfast basket, filled with yummy treats  Pet friendly Upscale amenities, quiet location and personalized service make Emerald Bay Lodge the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Emerald Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Cone Acre Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#