We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lots to do” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Emerald Bay Lodge to your Saves list
Emerald Bay Lodge
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   735 Emerald Bay Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6500 (Formerly Pine Cone Acre Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Brentwood, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lots to do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed here to see the Renaissance fair and loved it
staff was super friendly
with a heated pool ,a pool table,a ping pong table,volleyball and basketball their plenty to do
and they have bikes for you to use( for free )
when the sun gos`s down they have a fire pit that guest gather around
we stay here a couple times a year and love it
great for family's
and check out the Mexican restaurant two doors to the south lots of food fro the price

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Fresno, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Ok, we didn't have a reservation and got here about 10 pm on a Friday night, only needed one night. Glad there was a room available, the place looks cute from the outside. Paid $124 for the room--which surprised us by having a kitchen with a 4-burner stove, full-size refrig, a coffeemaker & microwave, and a small table with 2 chairs. Also has dishes, silverware and some cookware--would be great if we were staying a few days. Problem: upon entering, the room smelled funky--as if someone had cooked in there & not cleaned up. The sheets & towels were clean, but the rest of the room was lacking in cleanliness. It would be an awesome place with a little more attention to detail from housekeeping staff-- clean off the gunk that someone spilled on the front picture window, repair the missing slats in the mini-blinds, wipe down the kitchen counter, and actually wash the dishes before putting them back into the cupboards. Also, there were cobwebs in the corners of the bathroom ceiling--oops, housekeeping missed those. This place has real potential, it's very quiet and I really loved the setup--but I felt like we kind of got ripped off on that pricing, based upon the condition of the room. Also, there were no curtains on the window, just blinds--too much light coming in made it a less-than-restful night. Just keep this in mind if you decide to take a chance, it's a 50/50 on what you'll get.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Cute from the outside, nice outside amenities, especially for kids and groups, but since the whole extended family that runs the place seems to live there and hangs out outside their rooms and spends a great deal of their time outside smoking in the ping-pong, pool table, barbecue area it is not very inviting for guests to hang out there or send their kids out there. The family does seem very nice though, and they seem to want to do a good job for their guests, which is why they got a score of 2 instead of 1. We were given what they said was their best room. The basic cleaning was ok but the wide headboard had a thick layer of dust on it. The bathroom was tiny without counter space. No AC and the room was very uncomfortable on this hot early June night even with the ceiling fan--the fan doesn't bring in any outside air, and there was no breeze this night. It could be difficult to leave the window open anyway with all the smoke outside. When I turned down the bed I discovered a disgusting looking stain on the sheet. It smelled like it had been laundered so I decided to just turn the sheet around and put the stain down by our feet. When I peeled back the covers, I found a 2-foot diameter coffee stain at the bottom, and it still smelled like coffee. Thus had to go out to the smokers and get them to bring clean sheets at 10:30 at night. They had already given a small discount due to trouble with their credit card billing but they didn't offer any additional discount for this disgusting problem. The king size mattress was in good shape and the place was fairly quite at night. I might consider staying there again if I checked the room thoroughly first but I would try other nearby lodging if I had a choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westerntravelwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Oxford, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The reservation was for a handicapped room. When we arrived I was told they had overbooked and no handicapped room was available. We had to take a regular double but they did provide a stool for the tub. The people were friendly and did all they could to accommodate us. After the first night, the room was not made up and new towels were not brought until we contacted the front desk. My advise to someone who is look to stay at this motel is DON'T.

Room Tip: Be sure to look at the room before you book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Right on highway 89, easy to find, good variety of choices to eat nearby, clean, old fashioned motel room.
Thin walls, but that didn't seem to be a problem in our stay.
Our small room had a tv, microwave and fridge, coffee maker, small table and a chair. Weather permitting, each room has a table and chairs available outside the door.
What got us to stay here was that they are pet friendly, a room was available and they had an affordable rate. No extra charge for our excellently well trained furry kid.
The weather was cold, so we had to use the heater. It worked very well.
An immaculate pool which we didn't get to use is on site. Recreational equipment like bikes and kayaks are available to rent. A nice small grassy park is whimsical.
Organic toiletries are offered. Yeah!
The mattress was adequate and we both slept well. The blanket style bedspread was charming.
Service was friendly, and we were checked in with a smile.
While not 5 star, it served our needs for a room, and for what was offered, we were happy for the night and the price.
Delivered what we expected.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yippyiay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

As others have pointed out, this place isn't luxurious, but it was sufficient. The owners seem to really try to make it as nice as possible. I liked that they used quilts instead of those nasty bedspreads at most cheap motels, and the breakfast pastries were fresh from a local bakery - very nice! We got the best rate by phone when I called 4 days before our trip. Only one hitch: when we arrived to check in, he couldn't find my reservation. Finally located it and the person who booked it made for 2 nights a WEEK later. He was about to tell me they were booked, but then said he had a cancellation for our one night, so we got a different room and a $20 discount. He also pointed out that room 17 has an air conditioner and not all of them do. So you'll definitely want to ask about that when you book if it's going to be warm in Tahoe.

We chose this motel because it's close to the bike path to ride up to Camp Richardson and the historic parks. They also are lucky to have restaurants in walking distance - Alpina is a great little coffee and breakfast place, the Irish pub looked like a happening place Friday night, there's a Mexican cantina nearby, and the Burger Lounge across the street from the motel is fantastic.

Things to be aware of before booking here: mostly queen sized beds, and ours was kind of hard and had a weird hill on one side; thin walls and without an A/C you'll have to keep your window open to the noise of the parking area; maybe because it was warm or a lot of younger people stay here, there seemed to be a lot of people still outside kind of late. They weren't obnoxious, but just talking and such. Because of its age, the heater is the wall type that will likely be noisy in the winter. It's not close to the lake; you'll have to drive, walk, or ride bikes (but they do rent bikes and kayaks for only $20 a day!).

Bottom line: when other area motels are charging $180 for a peak summer night, you can get a room here for closer to $100 - if you want simple accommodations, it's worth a try.

Room Tip: Ask for air conditioning if it's a warm summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

As long as you are don't need luxury, this is the best deal in South Lake Tahoe. The motel is located about 2 miles from Camp Richardson and the Beacon which is a great place to hang out, listen to music and enjoy the spectacular lake. The rooms at the motel are small but they are clean and functional. There is a small swimming pool, ping pong table and outdoor firepit which is nice for evening get-togethers. My only complaint is that the lights outside each room are on all night and there are no 'black-out' curtains on the windows.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorCal50Something
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
4.1 mi away
The Trailhead
The Trailhead
#32 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#25 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
4.4 mi away
Avalon Lodge
Avalon Lodge
#27 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson Express Inn S. La...
#38 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.8 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#29 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
1.0 mi away
Apex Inn
Apex Inn
#39 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Bay Lodge

Address: 735 Emerald Bay Rd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6500 (Formerly Pine Cone Acre Motel)
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Bay Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our recently renovated rooms were designed with you in mind. We offer all the amenities needed to feel right at home. Located just a short drive from beautiful Emerald Bay, one of the most photographed spots in the world. Maybe you have come to take advantage of our hiking trails, bike paths, ski slopes, beaches, night life, Lake Tahoe has it all. If you prefer a much slower pace what better place, surrounded by pine trees you can rest, relax and rejuvenate here at Emerald Bay Lodge.  The absolute best Personal Care Amenities  Flat panel TVs  Free Wi-Fi access  Microwave and fridge  Kitchenette units available  Daily housekeeping service  Complimentary bike use (summer season)  Breakfast basket, filled with yummy treats  Pet friendly Upscale amenities, quiet location and personalized service make Emerald Bay Lodge the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Emerald Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Cone Acre Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing