We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopefully new management will turn this place aruond” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Capri Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Capri Motel to your Saves list
Capri Motel
932 Stateline Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hopefully new management will turn this place aruond”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The motel was locked upon arrival on a cold day. What a way to welcome guests to your property! The hotel room was extremely old, outdated, and not very warm. The shower leaked.

The real great thing about thing about this place is its proximity to the Casinos and Heavenly. Walking distance to both.

Will look for a different arrangement next time I'm in town.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has working heat as they all apparently do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    10
    7
    2
    11
See reviews for
16
16
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Sunny and Tom always make our stay so pleasant. We get the same clean room each time. A rare gem in Tahoe with managers who care. We look forward to each trip knowing we will be staying at a hotel that is affordable - has a great pool and is so close to the casinos and lake.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Linda, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed here 12 years ago on my honeymoon and it was GREAT and then my wife and I went back on 8/21/13 to stay there and some RUDE mam came out and talk so RUDE to my wife that we would not ever stay there again, I don't care if it was for free. The people running the place are terrible, at least the man that came out should be run out of town.
I'm sure he wont be there long with this kind of behavior.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

WE Arrived Friday night and frankly were quite surprised at the great service, value, and friendliness of the hotel staff. They exceeded all our expectations. This motel used to be quite rundown, but the current staff has done some quite surprising renovations.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We were right across the street from harveys hotel and casino. Reasonable rates. Nice rooms. Microwave and fridges. owners are very nice and respectful. Very nice place to stay nice quiet and fun. Everyone imcluding maids and maintenance were very friendly. Barbeque areas and nice sitting areas.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was in town for one night and just needed a place to lay my head and stash my stuff before my weeklong vacation began at a more rustic property at Fallen Leaf Lake. I took the South Tahoe Express bus in from the Reno airport and was very happy to see that the Harvey's drop location was literally only about 50 yards from the Capri so I didn't have far to carry my luggage. The room itself was very simple. Teeny little old-school TV and a very outdated bathroom. Wasn't happy with the water pressure in the shower. Nice to have a ceiling fan to keep the room cool in the summer. Room rate includes free WiFi and a pass to the local private beach on Tahoe which normally costs $5 so that was a nice bonus. The free Continental Breakfast was VERY basic...individually wrapped danish and cold cereal. I tried the instant oatmeal, but the hot water provided was barely hot enough to cook the oats. Bottom line...it was great to be within walking distance of everything I wanted to see, and I got a decent night's sleep but the property itself is definitely outdated. I did appreciate their flexibility when I requested a late check out.

Room Tip: I asked for a 2nd floor quiet room and was given an end room on the Cedar Ave. side of the motel. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hughson, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a great location this is !!!! Directly out the back door of Harvey's and walking distance to all other shops / dining / etc. Managers here are the best hosts in the area ... Sunny & Tom go out of their way to make your acomodations the best possible . I personally like the fact you aren't stuck in some casino with no place to just hang out . The pool is heated & great for an afternoon swim . There are BBQ's on sight for the guests to use . Rooms are always clean & the beddings are always top notch . What a great place to stay !!!

Room Tip: Any room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capri Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Motel

Address: 932 Stateline Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Capri Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Capri Motel Lake Tahoe
Capri Hotel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capri Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.