We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay on Stateline” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capri Motel

Save Saved
You added Capri Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Capri Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   932 Stateline Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Hughson, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best place to stay on Stateline”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a great location this is !!!! Directly out the back door of Harvey's and walking distance to all other shops / dining / etc. Managers here are the best hosts in the area ... Sunny & Tom go out of their way to make your acomodations the best possible . I personally like the fact you aren't stuck in some casino with no place to just hang out . The pool is heated & great for an afternoon swim . There are BBQ's on sight for the guests to use . Rooms are always clean & the beddings are always top notch . What a great place to stay !!!

Room Tip: Any room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    10
    7
    1
    11
See reviews for
16
15
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Sunny (she and her husband, Tom manage the Motel), was very nice and accommodating. A welcoming smile and sparkling eyes as she did her best to help us out.
We had wanted a ground level room, but as we came late and we didn't call before coming to request it, she had none available and couldn't make any adjustments that late.
As it turned out, the room we had was perfect.
The only problem was that the pillow was a bit to firm for my wife and she had a neck ache in the morning. But next time we'll just bring the pillow that works for her.
Standing outside, the smoke from smokers came up in wisps every so often, but no enough to be a problem. We didn't have our pet with us, but them allowing them is wonderful.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second story facing the street have a nice view of the many horse drawn carts that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Cinder block walls, old carpet, rough sheets and pillow cases, no air conditioning, windows hardly lock, loud, rough towels (unless you need facial exfoliation), tiny shower and just plain bad. Totally overpriced to top it off.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The first night was very loud. The walls are thin and it felt like people were doing cartwheels above us all night. The second night the power was out! No heat in the snow. The room was freezing, the office did NOT have flashlights, lamps, or candles to give out. I asked for my money back and they said NO! It was a cold, dark night there!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Great value, convenient location, awesome service and soft towels! Sunny is truly amazing. We had to cancel our reservations due to last minute work conflicts, and she was understanding and so helpful. She even remembered our names when we called back a few weeks later to reschedule!! Thanks, Sunny!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Capri Motel was a great deal. Very close to the casinos and Gondola. Comfortable, very clean, perfect location. While the beds were a bit hard they were what we expected for a budget motel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Capri is for those on a budget who want to be near the main drag at South Lake Tahoe & the Casino's and Gondola! Literally across the parking lot is Harvey's! A block away is the Gondola & shopping dining up & down the main street! Capri is very affordable and clean! Perfect location! Also great for walks just down the road to the lake and neighboring quiet streets! I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Capri Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Motel

Also Known As:
Capri Hotel
Capri Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Capri Motel Lake Tahoe
Capri Hotel Lake Tahoe
Address: 932 Stateline Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Capri Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Capri Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capri Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.