We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different in the Tahoe Village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gunbarrel Tavern & Eatery

Gunbarrel Tavern & Eatery
1001 Heavenly Village Way, #33 & 34, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
+(1)530-542-1460
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta, Bistro, Sandwiches
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Burbank, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Something different in the Tahoe Village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This restaurant is located where the Wolfgang Puck's Express was before. They remodeled and have added seating outside and a full bar. We had appetizers and drinks so can only comment on that although dinner looked fine but limited. (they had shrimp & grits, pork ribs, artichoke raviolis and beer can chicken.) Their best bet is probably the appetizers which can be shared and are filling enough for a full dinner. We had the Kobe Beef Sliders, jalapeno & bacon mac n' cheese and the "Tower 16" tuna. The soups and salads and bison burger looked excellent. Glad to see this restaurant in the Tahoe village - directly across from Fire and Ice at the Marriott. I should note that we also had appetizers at Fire and Ice that tasted like they had just come out of the microwave before we had these delicious appetizers at the Gunbarrel.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    25
    18
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Munroe Falls, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“New in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We met up with friends and 8 of us dined here. Walking distance to the Marriotts. This is a new establishment. Eclectic menu. They tried to accommodate our request to "turn down the music." It was a little on the noisy side for conversation. Food was good.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pet Friendly! Great Nachos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location at the base of Heavenly ski resort. We were traveling with our 2 labs and the staff was incredibly accommodating - we were seated at an outdoor side table . . . with water bowls for the pups! First night, we stopped for drinks and nachos . . . so good that we returned the following night for more nachos and a burger. Great nachos and burgers!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Barrel on Into this Terrific Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just had a chance to visit the Gunbarrel Tavern and Eatery - which was an excellent treat in South Lake Tahoe. We popped in to grab a drink and a light lunch/snack prior to a movie (BTW: Blue Jasmine - excellent film). We have been to the previous two incarnations of this spot (which didn't impress) - but now it looks like a real winner is aboard.

We grabbed seats at the bar and we were promptly greeted by barkeep Cory - who did an excellent job at walking us through the bar and extensive lunch menu. A good selection of signature cocktails, beers on tap and solid wine list is available. We opted for roasted shisito peppers and the quinoa and arugula salad (thanks again Cory - you're a rock star) - which arrived promptly. The salad was divine (and HUGE) - lightly dressed with ample chunks of chicken and the expertly roasted peppers were nicely paired with grapes (who wouda' guessed).

So - great choice in the hub of Heavenly village with friendly and efficient staff and tempting menu. Would give it an "excellent" but want a chance to return for the "beer can chicken" (looked fantastic) and wider sampling of the menu. Looking forward to this being our "go to" stop after a day on Gunbarrel this winter.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Tasty food but portions are very small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We were very disappointed to see Wolfgang pucks had closed at this location. So we thought we give this place a try. I ordered a house salad with chicken. They charge an extra $5 for the chicken which I probably got about 2 ozs of chicken that definitely came from a bag. it should have been grilled or pan fried for better flavor. I also got the tortilla soup with it which had a strong enchilada taste to it. It had a lot of salsa on it. The chicken fingers from the children's menu was more for a toddler in regards to portion size. The menu was not kid friendly for a 12 year old. The presentation of both dishes was nice. The service was good. We ate outside and the view was nice. There was a band playing outside so the music was nice. This place could have a lot of promise but they need bigger portions.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gunbarrel Tavern & Eatery also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)

Been to Gunbarrel Tavern & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gunbarrel Tavern & Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.