We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally a real coffee shop!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Cup Of Cherries

A Cup Of Cherries
3434 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA
15304545111
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Café
Restaurant details
sydney
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Finally a real coffee shop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We often find it hard to find decent (to our taste) coffee in the US so were very happy to find this place on our 6 day vacation to South Lake Tahoe. They know how to use an expresso machine and don't burn the coffee or the milk. you can ask for a macchiato or a latte and that's what you get! of course you can order a caramel overloaded sugerfest coffee if that's your thing and no doubt it would be good. food was also excellent, omelettes were light and fluffy. free wi fi

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The perfect coffee shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

This was the second coffee shop we tried on our vacation. The first place was scruffy, coffee was only so-so, and the house dog had a nasty habit of putting his nose where it didn't belong. Imagine our relief when we walked into Cherries; clean, bright, great food, great Red Eye! The service wasn't quite friendly but was scrupulously polite. Our breakfasts were tasty and reasonably priced. It's our go-to spot from now on.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hard to find but really good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

You have to look hard to find this lovely little place. It was right across the street from our hotel but we only found it when we walked past the door. The front and sign are brown - impossible to read if you are passing in a car. (its just beside Safeway btw)
BUT if you do find it, its wonderful for breakfast. Be patient - its a small place and gets kindof busy!
Being european, we really liked the normal sized portions - just right for our appetites. My husband had fantastic french toast. I enjoyed the lovely cappucino's, instead of the normal filter stuff you get everywhere else. Everything was cooked just right.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great little find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This was a great little place that we stumbled on when our first choice was too busy. The staff was very friendly and accommodating for the individuals in our group with food allergies.
The breakfast choices were varied and it was easy for everyone to find something that they liked! I had the rum French toast breakfast sandwich and it was incredible! I had a bite of a savory crepe and it was not as delicious as my sandwich, but was quite good. The coffee was delicious and I enjoyed the iced drink that they made with espresso ice cubes.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fun and tastey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Unique little coffee shop with interesting breakfast options and beautifully presented coffees. It is a great example of a local business worth visiting.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Cup Of Cherries also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to A Cup Of Cherries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Cup Of Cherries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.