We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fresh Ketch Restaurant

Fresh Ketch Restaurant
2435 Venice Dr E, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
530-541-5683
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Seattle
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A perfect lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just happened upon this place while in South Lake Tahoe. We were looking for a place to eat lunch on the water and this seemed like a good place to try. They had a Halibut special for lunch that day - we both thought it was great. The portions were good, the beer was tasty, and the atmosphere was perfect. The staff was very good - young and very polite (very encouraging) One of the more memorable places we ate while we were there. If we have the opportunity to be in the area again we will come back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    48
    12
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toledo
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Business lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Client requested to try this new to him eatery. Very close to Barton Hospital, lots of the locals eat there, always a good sign. Too windy to eat outside that day, but very pretty views of marina.
Menu was very large, lots of options, the fish n chips looked amazing lots of table ordering that, we had salmon and mahi at our table, they team said it was good. I had mahi blackened tacos, meat was small, meal was good, great french fries. The service was perfect, allowed for a great conversation with little but appropriate interruptoins. We shared 2 desserts, would not want to do it another way, they were incredible and would have to be at the gym for days! A great meal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Another great dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Always a favorite of ours at Tahoe. We had a great dinner with 11 of us at the outside bar at the Fresh Ketch (Tahoe Keys) on Saturday night. They did a great job in accommodating us at one table. Prices are more reasonable at the bar compared to the restaurant. Most had fish and chips plus one tri tip and two fish tacos – good food. It was a beautiful warm night for early June. Nice and relaxing outside looking over the marina and a wonderful sunset. Only negative was the slow service – drinks and food took forever – and it was not so busy. Worth a visit and we will be back

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Best meal in Tahoe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Amazing. Ten in every way. The specials were so extensive and tempting, I didn't look at the menu. Great staff, and like I said, best meal in tahoe. Mary and I try to give cafe fiore a fair chance but Evans wins everytime!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Finally the fresh ketch i remember 10 yrs ago!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Been coming to table for 40 yrs. wife and I had a few favorites throughout the years... Cafe fiore, Evans, and fresh ketch. The past few times we've been to tahoe, u have to say, I saw the fresh ketch go downhill. But I heard new owners bought the place and had a nice big budget to bring back the place from a friend in town, so Mary and I tried it again this week. Amazing! Really professional staff, great waitress, the new chef said hello. Best steak I've had in the past year is say. WASN'T expecting that! All I have to say is I'm glad they're improving this old local favorite!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh Ketch Restaurant also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Fresh Ketch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fresh Ketch Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.