We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self-service snow play area, good for small kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Mountain

Adventure Mountain
21200 Hwy 50, South Lake Tahoe, CA
(530)659-7217
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Adventure Mountain is a sledding/snow play area at Echo Summit near Lake Tahoe.
CA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Self-service snow play area, good for small kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went here on the last weekend of the season in 2013. It was $20 per vehicle. You can bring your own sleds, disks, tubes. If you rent tubes, they are $20 each. Their are lots of plowed lanes to sled. It's good for smaller kids, too. It's basically self-service. The only advice I can give is to bring your patience. Because the staff doesn't monitor what's happening, there are lots of folks that don't heed the park warnings to clear out of the lane as soon as you sled down. We enjoyed it, though.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“JUST WHAT WE WERE LOOKING FOR!!! Good fun!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I could see how this place might be a zoo but we visited at Spring Break (late season) and were hoping to find a place where our son could get in some sledding. We had been pretty worried before coming all the way here that all the snow would be gone. We lucked out! There were still at least 8 good runs and not too many people. We thought it was perfectly reasonable to charge us $20 for parking and then you're on your own to play. We had our own gear but they also rent sleds and tubes.

What more is there to say? Easy access, fun time, lots of good runs...

It looks like they have a full hot food area during the busy season and indoor seating...there is also a little store. And clean bathrooms!!

Tons of fun!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, california, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Snow Play”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Get there early and check out the area on the other side of the lodge, very nice people. If you bring your own sled and tube you can save lots of money and have a great time.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“On sleds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Grandparents, parents and grandkids had great fun on sleds. The $20 parking fee covered the sledding costs. This reasonably priced recreation.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great Sledding Park for the Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Finally, a sledding park for the family that is fun, safe, and affordable, and at $20 per car, I don't think there's a better deal around Lake Tahoe. There is plenty of parking close to the hill and the whole facility seems to be managed well. You can't bring your food into the lodge, so we noticed a number of people tailgating and having a good time. The old ski lodge is being upgraded and has a snack bar, restrooms, and lots of seating for those that don't wish to play in the snow. The sled runs were well groomed with a path to walk up the mountain between them, and with so many runs open, there was very little wait at the top.

I highly recommend this place for a great family outing!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventure Mountain also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Adventure Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.