We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FISH TACOS” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Freshies Restaurant & Bar

Freshies Restaurant & Bar
3330 Lake Tahoe Blvd, Ste 3, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
530-542-3630
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
South San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FISH TACOS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Fish Tacos all the way! YUMMO! Eat on the upper deck or inside. A little on the pricey side, but not bad for vacation dinner! Fish Tacos Al a Carte, $3.75 each! Tri Fries are good too! well worth it! MMMMMM

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Terrible service, food never arrived”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We ordered a late lunch and 50 minutes later, we still sat with only our water. When we inquired how much longer, no specifics were given by the wait staff. Just "the kitchen is really backed up", the rooftop was busy. They have a rooftop dining area also; we were inside. We had ordered a small salad and a jerk rubbed tofu sandwich--- not complicated dishes. We gave up and left. There were only two other people in the inside dining room and it looked like maybe six people on the rooftop when we left. We will never return. There are too many other options for our business in Lake Tahoe.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WSP215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice variety, fresh ingredients”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I appreciate how vegetarian friendly Freshies is. If you're a carnivore, don't be scared off- there is plenty for you, too. I had the sweet and sour vegetable stir fry with tofu and tempeh. It was really delicious and I didn't feel stuffed. My friend had a pasta dish with fish that she really enjoyed. We came on a weeknight- didn't seem very busy but service was a little slow. It has a lovely view of the lake and we were there as the sun was setting. Overall, I would recommend it and come back next time I'm in town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank happylittlebuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven Hills, OH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food mediocre, Service the same”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were in the area for one night on vacation, and asked a local for a suggestion. They suggested Freshies so we gave it a try.

First off, we should have known better when we went into a run down mini mall sort of location.

The second issue before we sat down was the hostess told us they could not put two tables together for our 6 person party, so we had to use two tables. I've never heard of such a thing before.

The third issue then was they refused to write separate checks!

We received our food and things didn't go uphill much from there. The fish tacos were awful. The pork taco, and Caesar salad weren't bad, but I've had much better. I'm fine with food being mediocre, but when you're charging so much, the food should have been better.

The one bright spot was the person filling the water glasses. He came around frequently and was very pleasant. My opinion is to skip this place and go somewhere else with a bit more flavor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bky21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great fish tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was our first visit to Freshies and it didn't disappoint! The place is pretty small and we did have to wait a bit. The owner sat us and was extremely friendly. They allowed us to pick two different tacos for our meals as we couldn't decide. The fish tacos were excellent! We all had them blackened,just the right amount of spice. We also had the pork taco,equally as good. My son thought the beans and rice that came with the meal were the amongst the best he has ever had. The two taco plate with rice and beans was a generous portion and we all left stuffed. We would defiantly visit again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freshies Restaurant & Bar also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Freshies Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing