We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice variety, fresh ingredients” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Freshies Restaurant & Bar

Freshies Restaurant & Bar
3330 Lake Tahoe Blvd, Ste 3, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
530-542-3630
Update restaurant details
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
New York, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice variety, fresh ingredients”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I appreciate how vegetarian friendly Freshies is. If you're a carnivore, don't be scared off- there is plenty for you, too. I had the sweet and sour vegetable stir fry with tofu and tempeh. It was really delicious and I didn't feel stuffed. My friend had a pasta dish with fish that she really enjoyed. We came on a weeknight- didn't seem very busy but service was a little slow. It has a lovely view of the lake and we were there as the sun was setting. Overall, I would recommend it and come back next time I'm in town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    52
    32
    10
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seven Hills, OH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food mediocre, Service the same”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were in the area for one night on vacation, and asked a local for a suggestion. They suggested Freshies so we gave it a try.

First off, we should have known better when we went into a run down mini mall sort of location.

The second issue before we sat down was the hostess told us they could not put two tables together for our 6 person party, so we had to use two tables. I've never heard of such a thing before.

The third issue then was they refused to write separate checks!

We received our food and things didn't go uphill much from there. The fish tacos were awful. The pork taco, and Caesar salad weren't bad, but I've had much better. I'm fine with food being mediocre, but when you're charging so much, the food should have been better.

The one bright spot was the person filling the water glasses. He came around frequently and was very pleasant. My opinion is to skip this place and go somewhere else with a bit more flavor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great fish tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was our first visit to Freshies and it didn't disappoint! The place is pretty small and we did have to wait a bit. The owner sat us and was extremely friendly. They allowed us to pick two different tacos for our meals as we couldn't decide. The fish tacos were excellent! We all had them blackened,just the right amount of spice. We also had the pork taco,equally as good. My son thought the beans and rice that came with the meal were the amongst the best he has ever had. The two taco plate with rice and beans was a generous portion and we all left stuffed. We would defiantly visit again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had an encrusted Halibut fillet. Was an incredible meal really fresh and healthy. Atmosphere was great, really nice ambience and cool Barbie house on the roof!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig
1 review
“great food-good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

has to wait a bit but the food is fresh made and terrific-the lime coconut drink was the best, the food was tasty and seemed homemade. the desserts were not good, however,-those were disappointing-the view was incredible from upstairs

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freshies Restaurant & Bar also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Freshies Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freshies Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.