We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLASSY DINING IN THE WOODS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Evan's American Gourmet Cafe

Evan's American Gourmet Cafe
536 Emerald Bay Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
530-542-1990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Palm Springs
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“CLASSY DINING IN THE WOODS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

For a romantic evening, or just a quiet dining experience in an old-country house setting; good food; nice friendly owner & staff; one of the few dressy restaurants in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    26
    9
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Number 1 for a reason!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The menu looked good and Evan's was rated number one in town... However, we were pleasantly surprised by the best filet of beef ever. Step aside Morton's, Ruth Chris, Capital Grille, etc... There is a new boss in town! And the bread pudding also took first place! Best ever... Great service and atmosphere as well. Definitely will be back next time in Tahoe!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best diiner in SLT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

excellent service, food, great wine choice, we really enjoyed the dinner with the first snow on the trees

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Save up your pennies for a special splurge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Evan's is not inexpensive, but you really do get what you pay for - our dinner here in October was just wonderful. Our soup and salad starters were very fresh and delicious. My husband had the venison as his main course and I had the halibut special - both were exquisite! The portions were just right, very filling but we ate everything on our plates. the place is small, but warm and comfortable. Service was great, very attentive - our server even kept our bottle of wine chilled for us and came back and filled up our glasses during dinner. Be sure to make reservations, and then go and enjoy a special evening here!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

What a great find! Superb food! If you are a foodie, this is a must go to place when you are in South Lake Tahoe.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evan's American Gourmet Cafe also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Evan's American Gourmet Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evan's American Gourmet Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.