We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal, ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Evan's American Gourmet Cafe

Evan's American Gourmet Cafe
536 Emerald Bay Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
530-542-1990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best meal, ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I had high expectations based on other reviews, and they did not dissapoint. Our party of 4 had a 5 star experience from start to finish, with flawless service and flawless food. Food presentation on every dish was picture worthy! I enjoyed the butter lettuce salad, followed by the crab stuffed Salmon special, with a Bananas Foster for dessert. Every single staff member was professional and on-point, a rare thing to find in laid back Tahoe dining. Best restaurant in the area, hands down. Cant wait to return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    183
    17
    9
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmichael, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Through the years, still the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have been dining at Evan's for many years, and we have never been disappointed in food or service. This time we went with a friend whose palate is even more refined than ours - he, too, was impressed. The veal sweetbreads appetizer was a treat: served as a "napoleon" with wonderfully flaky pastry, it was a great start to our meal. The broccoli rabe soup was rich and extremely flavorful, our entrees (halibut, duck, and veal) were all masterfully prepared, our shared lemon curd dessert was a perfect ending. We will certainly be back - sooner, rather than later!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Trust the locals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Impeccable service! The food was gourmet all the way, perfectly cooked and seasoned. Adventurous daily menu, including fantastic desserts.
I rated the prices a 5 because the high price was justified by the food, ambiance, and service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Eight of us went to Evan's for a birthday celebration. Since it is very quaint and small they did not have anything available for our group until 8:30. When we arrived a few minutes early our table was ready for us. We were immediately greeted by our server, Robert, who was wonderful. He made suggestions for our dinners which were excellent. Everyone loved their meals but the filet mignon was the best. Everything was excellent and I highly recommend this restaurant for a delicious dinner and wonderful atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was one of the best dining experiences I've ever had. The place is very unassuming from the outside. The food was fantastic and service exceptional. An absolute must eat here if you visit South Lake Tahoe.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evan's American Gourmet Cafe also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Evan's American Gourmet Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evan's American Gourmet Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.