We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Evan's American Gourmet Cafe

Evan's American Gourmet Cafe
536 Emerald Bay Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
530-542-1990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Great service, food, atmosphere. The food is a little pricy but very flavorful rich foods. I went there for my anniversary with my wife. It's a small restaurant which allow the servers to be attentive to your needs. If your looking for a romantic dinner with your wife or girlfriend this may be the place for you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    182
    17
    9
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California, United States
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Evan's is one of the last building driving north from South Lake Tahoe and a bit off the normal tourist route. But, it is well worth the effort to drive here for a very creative dinner. Our friends from Denmark raved about the dinner and the service. Since it is not a large restaurant please make reservations to reserve a table so that you are not disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Elegant & Cozy...a gem in South Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We were staying across the street at the Fireside Lodge and thought we'd just run across the road to have a bite. Little did we know what we would find at Evans. Despite not having made reservations, the Host seated us and made us feel welcome. He especially pampered our 7 year old which was completely unexpected given the elegant white tablecloth venue. The food was superb - fresh and expertly prepared. We will return to Evans next time we're in Tahoe - but we will definitely make a reservation to assure that we have a table!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a find in usually pedestrian Lake Tahoe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We found this restaurant by talking to a local guy who owned a wine store in town. We took one of his bottles to the restaurant (reasonable corkage fee) and then were completely wowed by everything. The atmosphere is cozy and home like, the staff was totally knowledgable about their menu and ingredients. My son and I split a spinach salad with duck sausage and the portions were huge - and that was a split salad. I had never had anything like this salad - the dressing was out of this world and the sausage I believe they make themselves. My husband's ceasar was one of the best he's had. We followed this with a coil of salmon stuffed with crab and surrounded by multicolored caviar that exploded in the mouth, smoked chicken with sundried tomatoes atop garlic mashed potatoes that gave that a new meaning and was surrounded by a crown of asparagus and snap peas. My husband's pork chop was juicy, flavorful and the sauce was unbelievable. This was "crowned" by baby carrots and snap peas in the most wonderful presentation which I intend to duplicate when I entertain (I even took a picture). Dessert - OMGosh just divine. Do not miss them - a new definition for whatever it is believe me. Alas that we live in Southern California or this would be a regular restaurant. Don't miss this one!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Elegant, yet cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

On a snowy evening last week we went to this wonderful restaurant for dinner. It is quite small with only 11 tables for either two or four people. It is like walking into the front room of a little cozy house.The minute you walk in the door and are greeted by the hostess,you feel warm and welcome. The tables, covered in white linen, had small bouquets of flowers and added to the elegance of the ambiance.
We ordered glasses of sparkling wine to go with the complimentary pate served before dinner.
The caesar salad was delicious with just the right amount of dressing. The warm spinach salad was equally as good.
For entrees we ordered the ahi tuna and the duck...both prepared perfectly and beautifully presented.
If you still have room for dessert, don't miss the frozen white chocolate mousse that is a recipe created by the owner.
If you are in Lake Tahoe and want to have a delicious and beautifully prepared dinner, don't miss Evans.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evan's American Gourmet Cafe also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe Vista, Lake Tahoe (California)

Been to Evan's American Gourmet Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evan's American Gourmet Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.