We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet, big portions, excellent menu selection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Evan's American Gourmet Cafe

Evan's American Gourmet Cafe
536 Emerald Bay Rd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
530-542-1990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
san mateo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gourmet, big portions, excellent menu selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Been there 1st time, ver pleased. Got quail and special pizza for appetizer- excellent, main dish - tuna, was very good. Unfortunately no space for dessert.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    22
    9
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Had a hard time finding the restaurant, once we got there, it is an intimate cozy place for a very cold night. We had the sweetbread and quail appetizers, the presentation was excellent, but both were a bit tough, and covered with sauces. The entrees, roast venison loin and sautéed veal loin medallions, were also smothered in sauces, and also did not seem too fresh. The service was pretty good. But we had a long wait for the appetizers to arrive. There were only 3 occupied tables at that time. There was no expresso coffee for after dinner, and we had to wait quite a long time, again, for our bill to be delivered.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Still the Best in Tahoe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The food at Evan's continues to 'really please'. The menu is creative, the cooking is great, the dining-room is comfortable and the service friendly.
In the past couple of weeks, we've eaten at Charthouse, Mirabelle, Friday's Station, and The Edgewood. And although these guys all have some virtues, Evan's is in a league of it's own. Big thanks to Evan and his team for a great meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Charming, delicious, and with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had high expectations and hopes for our New Year's Eve dinner at Evan's -- and it lived up to them all!! We were all very happy with the interesting menu, delicious food, festively decorated ambiance, and fine service. Perhaps New Year's Eve is not a typical representation of weekly dinners, as they offered a unique mix of prix fixe options, but it's hard to imagine that the quality would differ. The service was very warm and friendly and I always love it when the chef visits the tables for an introduction and feedback -- which he kindly did. All in all, a totally perfect way to kick off 2013!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“We set our expectations too high”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I made reservations far in advance, and I was very excited to try this restaurant.

My meal was good, but not great. My boyfriend was disappointed with his meal, and he even pointed out to the waiter that it obviously had an item in it that was not fresh. We understood that they could not obtain fresh baby corn, but for a fine dining restaurant to use any canned or frozen vegetable in their dishes, is not satisfactory when they are charging such high prices for a meal. If he loved the dish, this may have been overlooked, but he did not enjoy it.

The waiter gave us one dessert, compliments of the chef. I believe this one was not on the menu. I thought it was delicious, however I thought it was interesting that we were not asked if we wanted another dessert. My boyfriend didn't enjoy the dessert as much as I did.

After our meal, we went straight to our hotel and went to sleep shortly thereafter. In the middle of the night, my boyfriend got sick and spent a significant amount of time in the bathroom.

We have paid a high price for a meal that was well deserving of it, however, I think this experience at Evan's was not worth it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evan's American Gourmet Cafe also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Evan's American Gourmet Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evan's American Gourmet Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.