We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid choice for breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Cafe

Driftwood Cafe
1001 Heavenly Village Way, Ste 1A, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
(530) 544-6545
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Dayton Ohio
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Solid choice for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The Driftwood is a popular spot in Heavenly Village, serving breakfast and lunch. When you arrive, you are welcomed to a bright, bustling, comfortable dining room, decorated with a nautical theme by someone who clearly misses the ocean and had a lot of tacky seashore knickknacks lying around (just enough to be cute). The wait staff is high-energy, a friendly and efficient crew. Their attitude feels genuine; they seem to enjoy working here, and that spills over to make the whole place seem pleasant and happy.

We had breakfast: fried eggs and omelet prepared exactly as ordered, standard hash browns, big fluffy pancakes, excellent thick-cut bacon. Portions are large; our plates were nearly overflowing with food. Too bad they don’t offer genuine maple syrup as an alternative to flavored corn syrup - their food deserves it. The blueberry bran muffin sounded interesting but... it turned out to be a sad, flat little orphan that couldn't decide whether it was bran or blueberry, not great at either. An intriguing idea, ultimately disappointing.

Overall, our experience was very good. The minor criticisms put only a small dent in an otherwise satisfying breakfast. We liked Driftwood so much we went back another day. This is a solid choice to start your day in South Lake Tahoe.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    153
    31
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“pretty simple...good food, good staff etc”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

most have said it all....we ate here twice...i had the healthy omelette the first time and a regular 2 eggs breakfast which they call "typical american fare"

my wife had an omelette the first time as well and even later in the day commented that her breakfast was really good.

staff was friendly, attentive, def recommend this place. it was also pretty loud and no one minded that my 17mos old was toddling around the place with one of us lol

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This cafe offers a great menu for breakfast. We heartily recommend the eggs benedict with the delicious herb/cheese sauce. We tried the veggie one and the turkey one and both were wonderful, as well as the potato pancakes and/or hashbrowns. Coffee was very good. It is in a convenient location right by hotels/shops/casinos.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Heavenly breakfast near the Heavenly resort...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Another restaurant part of the Gondola outdoor mall - bit confusing, look at the map, this one is easier to find since it is on the main road side. Great breakfast, big booths, endless great coffee, very busy/popular but you don't feel rushed. Very healthy My friend and I both had coffee and omelettes - mine was avocado, spinach and mushrooms - with a side of English muffin and fresh fruit! The bill came to $28 - without tip! Wish I hadn't found the place the morning I was leaving. Worth checking out...would presume there would be a wait if you arrived on the weekend; i don't know if you can make reservations - they seat you when you whole party is present.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Jewel of a breakfast place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Friendly service, hot food, very well prepared and obviously fresh. Go early, or else there will be a line out the door.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driftwood Cafe also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Driftwood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.