We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going for a snack ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maya's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Maya's
3132 US Hwy 50, South Lake Tahoe, CA
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Going for a snack ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

After a good walk just wanted something light found this place and it was great just the right portions for the price and the food was great nice view of the shops around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious and fresh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Really good food for very low prices. The shrimp burrito and the grilled fish taco are amazing. We got the chipotle sauce on the side as it has a little bite to it. The food is so fresh, good, and delicious that we ate there twice. Yummy!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orinda
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Newly opened Mexican restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Maya grill opened a week ago And it has already become popular with the locals. It's across the street from the Marriott resort. I ordered the fish tacos. They were excellent and inexpensive. I also had the horchata drink. It is made with rice and cinnamon and tastes like very light rice pudding! My friends enjoyed their meals as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baraboo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would never had guessed it was so good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

this is a "taco truck" really its a coverted bus i think. The staff is friendly and the food is Great. We ordered an array of tacos - chicken pork and beef (gringo style -you get melted cheese between two tortilla then they are filled with meat). We had the grilled mahi and the grilled sea bass tacos - not so much a fan but only because i hate onions and didn't think to ask about that. We also had the cheese quesadilla (average). The breakfast burrito was great But the Crowning jewel was the steak and shrimp buritto A-MAZE-ING. higher priced then say taco bell but worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to grab a burrito on the way out of Tahoe, or to go.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Although our orders were wrong a few times, the food here is really very good. I have witnessed others complaining about orders wrong, I think the problem is the cook doesn't understand English.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya's also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Maya's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.