We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nephele's

Nephele's
1169 Ski Run Blvd, Suite 6, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8522
+1 530-544-8130
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Nephele's has been a local favorite since 1977. We specialize in fresh fish and fresh game as well as seasonal specialties. Check out our full service bar and extensive wine list!
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Food was excellent, service was great. Price was a bit high but this is expected for the food quality. The elk medalions were excellent

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    34
    13
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
joyunlimited14
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, great presentation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We found this little place down the street from our hotel, in the opposite direction of the lake. It took us a minute to find the entrance (which is on the side, the "inside" side, you'll know what I mean when you go there), and we entered through a sort of hallway which led to the bar area. Towards the back (or front, given the odd configuration of the restaurant) we found an intimate little dining area with a great view of a little garden through what seemed to be antique wooden windows. The service was excellent; we always had our glasses full and our empty plates were removed promptly. Prices here were on the higher side - $37 for Elk, and $30 for Halibut - but the presentation of the food was spectacular. The only improvements that could be had would be to the ladies restroom, which was small and in need to updating. Other than that, this was a nice little place for an intimate dinner and a glass of wine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Rich food and sweet sauces does not equal great cooking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Had better hopes for this place. A little dark on the inside. Skip the "seafood cheesecake" - doubt if you will get it fresh and it looks/tastes old. Staff says chef likes sweet sauces. Yep, I can confirm that. Blah. Italian place behind Nephele's a much better choice but get reservations.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“excellent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

we had the Australian 'elk' and everything was very very nice. The seating was a bit squishy and the prices were fair for the quality.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Gathering spot for meeting friends and making new ones.
Pros: the bar drinks, bar food, bartender, walked to from our room.
Cons: Nothing

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nephele's also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Nephele's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nephele's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.