We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Generous Portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nephele's

Nephele's
1169 Ski Run Blvd, Suite 6, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8522
+1 530-544-8130
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Nephele's has been a local favorite since 1977. We specialize in fresh fish and fresh game as well as seasonal specialties. Check out our full service bar and extensive wine list!
Incline Village, Nevada
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good Food and Generous Portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We came as a party of eight and they gave us a nice quiet room in the back, which was pretty much ours for 2 hours. The food was quite good, and the service not bad. They have some unique dishes that are tastefully served and very generous portions. Not inexpensive, but not super pricey either. The dinners $25-37 include a nice salad. I do not drink a lot, but our friends raved about the wine selection and the draught beer was only $3 - bargain of the evening. I am a stickler on cleanliness, and all of the dishes and glasses were sparkling clean. The only negative was that they hit us for 22% group tip. This I thought a bit high.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    31
    12
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food atmosphere and presentation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our 3rd night in Tahoe and finally a good restaurant. Started with a cajun shrimp bisque that was delicious. Chilean Sea Bass cooked to perfection, my husband had a marinated shrimp n pasta dish which was also excellent. Excellent portions including sides of fresh veggies and mini potatoes. Service was superb. Atmoshere warm and cozy. All in all we will be back again before heading home. Don't miss this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Intimate and original, convenient to Heavenly slopes & casinos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wonderful spot within walking distance of rentals near Heavenly ski resort. Individually owned, with an eclectic menu that includes several wild game options in addition to traditional fare. Old fashioned attentive service by wait staff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great food in Tahoe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Unique menu, well prepared. Staff was very friendly and even suggested other places to eat throughout the week. Must have the seafood cheesecake appetizer. Incredible!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Nice bar near Alder Inn. We didn't eat there but , it was a lovely place to have a cosy drink. The staff were very nice too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nephele's also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Nephele's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nephele's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.