We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Fresh Mexican” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Mexican Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Peppers Mexican Grill
Heavenly Village, South Lake Tahoe, CA
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Fresh Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The salsa was the first thing we noticed was really good with authentic fresh ingredients, roasted tomatillos and peppers. It was yummy, like Chevy's salsa from long ago. The portions were just right and you can get grilled veggies instead of rice and beans which was a really nice option. We had two boys with us that had to leave early so the waiter put their food in and it came right away. The rest of the meals came really quickly also. We go to South Lake Tahoe very often and it is great to see some more new options. The wait staff was very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Family atmosphere, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The servers were very friendly and the food portions were generous (especially the taco salad!), but the food was just average and if you're looking for something a little more relaxing after a day on the slopes, I'd go elsewhere. It had a bit of a cafeteria-feel to it at dinner time.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

we are from texas so we just hope for above average when it comes to mexican food restaurants when we travel. when we walked in, it was quiet which concerned me since they are located right in the village. The service was nice and the food was actually pretty good. the tortilla soup was yummy. it was also pretty reasonably priced for a village restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place for a drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stopped in Peppers for a couple of beers after taking the Gondola up to Heavenly Ski Resort. Nice little place - not too busy considering the location. Chatted with one of the owners who was working the bar. Didn't eat but what we saw look appetizing!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We ate at Pepper's twice. The food was excellent. We tried a bit of everything - chips, quest blanco, street tacos, burrito (huge), chicken enchilada and cheese enchilada - and I can recommend them all.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peppers Mexican Grill also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Peppers Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.